Turkey Carcass Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This is a great base recipe/instructions for using the carcass. I made a few changes to fit my families tastes: swapped the potatoes and cabbage with more carrots, celery, and also added about 2 cups of cut fresh green beans. I also used 3/4 cup of white rice instead of barley as filler/thickener. I kept the seasoning and spices the same, except for omitting the salt since I'd brined the turkey (already soaked in salted solution for 24hrs). If I hadn't brined the bird, I would have used the salt too. Thanks AllRecipes and submitter BirdNSav! Another recipe to put in my recipebox and save for future use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Good starter recipe. I simmer bones on low for much longer and cut off good meat to add later, at the last minute, to preserve flavor. I generally use brown rice (instead of barley) and sometimes add curry and a little hot sauce. Never use potatoes in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This was a delicious way to ensure your turkey doesn't go to waste! Making your own broth is so easy and it really does taste so much better than canned or carton varieties. This makes A TON of soup and is a great way to stretch your leftover turkey. I had to increase the salt from 1.5 tsp to 2 tsp, but perhaps if I had brined my turkey I wouldn't have needed to increase the salt. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craftsyfoodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
We had a turkey breast and made half of the soup recipe with it and it turned out excellent. I didn't get a lot of turkey flavor from just one hour of simmering, so I added one Knorr concentrated chicken soup stock, and that did the trick to bring up the flavor. Next time I would simmer the carcass longer. But, the husband loved it. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Best turkey soup I have ever made or had. The flavors and spices were perfect. Omitted the cabbage because I didn't have any. Added lots of mushrooms instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I don't usually like turkey soup but this proved to be a pleaser, even for me! I followed some of the reviewers' notes and also made a few modifications of my own: Made the basic stock in the crockpot and added a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar to the pot as a few reviewers noted. After adding the carcass and water, I added a handful of celery (the smaller inner stems with leaves which I also removed later), and about a half teaspoon of dehydrated shallots (next time I will try minced garlic), and bay leaf. Cooked the stock on High all afternoon (about 6 hours). Then strained the stock into a soup pot on the stove and added all but the potatoes and barley ( I substituted cooked brown rice to make it gluten free). I also added the chopped celery and used chopped fresh parsley instead of dried, and a can of stewed tomatoes (original recipe) and cut them into smaller pieces with the edge of the spoon. I had one large leftover turkey breast to add and that made this more like a stew since I didn't add as much water as called for in the recipe. This is a great basic recipe and lends itself well to modify according to your taste and also to what you may or may not have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
It is a good Base recipe but I did find it bland, I had to add additional spices to give it more flavor and a can of chicken broth. I actually boiled bones for longer then it calls for and still it did not have a lot of flavor so added the chicken broth more pepper and Garlic Salt. I did not use potato's but added Rice to make it a turkey and rice soup. I will def use it as a base but just needed more spice for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Followed the directions except for potatoes and cabbage. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATMC102

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Hearty! Good flavor.One hour for each step is general -- it may be more. Use double amount of barley! Makes alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States