Turkey Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Great recipe! Like some other reviewers, I did sub 3 cans of tomato sauce, instead of using paste. Also, sauteed 3 garlic cloves with the onion & ground turkey. Kids & husband all enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
I just made these rolls last night for dinner and they were DELICIOUS!!! I have been making cabbage rolls for a long time and these knocked my old recipe out of the park! Plus they were a lot healthier with the ground turkey and my family never knew the difference, which was quite obvious since we have no leftovers! Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Fabulous! I complimented the recipe with oregano, garlic and other italian spices to taste... used all tomato sauce and no paste and an absolute must to add mozzarella in the mix; not much but a touch will help the rolls say together after baking. I also blanched the cabbage to help leaves separate. Any mix of ground meats will work. A new favorite for the 3,7,10 and 45 yr old kids in my house! Superb!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
As others, I cut the bottom of the cabbage head off and boiled for 5 minutes before pulling off the leaves. Instead of canned tomatoes, I used fresh diced tomatoes. It still came out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morganville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
After reading the other reviews, I decided to make a few changes and it turned out great! I used boil-in-bag brown rice, italian seasoned diced tomatoes instead of tomato sauce in with the meat, and also added a handful of shredded mozzarella. Also, adding additional seasonings- garlic, salt and pepper, and red pepper flakes gave it a litte more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Wow.. did NOT care for this. I made it exactly as noted. Guess it just isn't my thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMI13

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
These are incredible. I second another reviewer's observation that soaking the cabbage head in hot water will help: After the first few leaves, peeling off the rest in one piece becomes nearly impossible. Also, there appears to be a typo in Step 5: there is no mention of additional water in the ingredient list that would correspond to using water here; the sauce is perfect without it. You may also find the filling could use an extra shake of salt or garlic salt, but that's a matter of taste, and much easier to add than subtract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
so delicious and easy to follow. you will love it. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Delicious! As one reviewer recommended, I sautéed 3 garlic cloves as well with onion & turkey, substituted 4 oz tomato sauce w/salsa to the meat mix, and cut off the end of the cabbage head to soften and peel off easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARNZ01
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I'm giving 4 stars due to the amount of changes made. I sauted 3 cloves of garlic with the onion, turkey. Then I substituted 4 ounces of the tomato sauce with hot salsa to the meat mixture. Gave it some great flavour. No one had mentioned how to easily get the cabbage leaves off. I recomend cutting off the end of the cabbage head and blanching it in boiling water. The leaves will soften and can be peeled off and rolled much easier. This is also an important step if you want nice tender cabbage in the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARNZ01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States