Turkey Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
YUMMERS! This was just what I was looking for...great flavor. I did however prepare my rolls the night before, refrigerated them over night and cooked them in my crock pot on low for 7 hours while I was at work the next day. I only added enough tomato sauce/water combo to cover the rolls. I didn't mind the thin sauce once tasting how great the roll was with it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkubitski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This meal was very good. I seasoned the turkey with garlic powder, pepper, and seasoned salt. For the sauce, I used only 1/2 cup water with the tomato paste and it seemed to make it a nice, chunky sauce. I also used brown rice as well. It tastes good and is healthy! Next time I make this I will probably add some white wine to the turkey and a little tabasco sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAISYTAZZY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I gave this 4 stars because it was a good starting point for using the lower fat ingredients. I added chopped garlic, bell pepper, jalapeno, and more seasonings to the filling after reading other reviews. You really have to rev up the spices and flavors with the ground poultry. I also added more seasoning to the sauce, mainly garlic & onion powders, some cajun spice and, YES, a pinch of ground cloves, as this is how I make my regular cabbage rolls. I agree with more lemon juice so you get that sweet & sour sauce for the finished dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. I made a few changes. While browning the turkey, in addition to the onion, I added 3 cloves of garlic and a dash of cayenne pepper. I also used brown rice instead of long grain and added 1/3 cup pepper jack cheese to mix! I actually measured 2 tablespoons of mixture to each cabbage leaf and ended up with alot of extra filler that I just added to the sauce on top. Next time I will just add more mixture to each cabbage leaf! Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Not a bad recipe just not a meal my family enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarbean

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
With some modifications, we loved this dish! Other reviewers' tips were very helpful and led me to make these changes: I boiled the whole head of cabbage for 5-10 minutes to make leaf removal/rolling easier. For more veggies, I added 1 cup diced green pepper to the onion/garlic/turkey saute. To punch up flavor, I added 2 tsp of minced garlic, 2 tsp of sugar, and 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper to the filling mix. For a less watery sauce, I used whole (6 oz.) can of tomato paste with 1/2 cup water (plus tomato sauce called for). Will make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CERRADANCE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
My parents loved these, but I thought that they were missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
The only changes I made was to use more like 2/3 cup uncooked rice and 1-1/3 cups water; I also added extra salt and pepper to the meat, and used 3 cups of tomato sauce instead of sauce, paste, and water. It was edible, even alright, but not great. It needed (according to my husband) a LOT more lemon juice. And he was right, we put extra lemon on while eating and it helped. There was something off-putting about the turkey-cabbage-tomato combo. Turkey does taste different from ground beef (or lamb, I would assume), and I'm used to ground beef cabbage rolls. I might try this recipe again with beef but not with turkey. I'm glad I tried it, anyhow! Thanks for sharing, Dhano923!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Amazing! I did some adding and changing according to what I had in my kitchen and other reviewers ideas - I used a pink tomato vodka sauce, added toasted garlic, and used leftover chicken off the grill instead of the turkey. I also added a little grated sharp white cheddar cheese in the last few minutes of baking. We will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States