Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I used this for just a turkey breast, around 6-8 pounds. I followed most of the directions except i used home-grown rosemary, about 3 long sprigs (I used the trailing rosemary not the shrub rosemary). What's nice about turkey breast is it completely submerses in the 2-gallon brine. While roasting I started taking internal temperature measurements after 1 1/2 hours and found out it was done 15 minutes later. I let the turkey stand for 15-20 minutes before carving. Unbelievably moist and tasty results! My father-in-law, who doesn't eat turkey, tried some and helped himself to another few slices! Now my mother-in-law wants the recipe. We plan on making her a holiday "bucket" containing all the ingredients (except for the turkey) and wrapping it up for Christmas. Thanks for the recipe, Sheri!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I used this recipe my first time brining a turkey. I followed the directions exactly and had mixed results. The turkey was extremely juicy...great, but the wings were too salty, inedibly salty. Also, I wasn't in love with the flavor, but I did receive many compliments. So, I will try it once again because this recipe has such rave reviews I think it deserves another shot. I'm hopeful my second time will yield better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Purchased a GreenEgg this past summer. First brine I've ever made. First ever grilled turkey. This is definitely a recipe we will FOREVER use. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
My turkey turned out great. It was moist and tender. I used it in combination with home-style turkey the michigander way. Together it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittycat2007

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
After using other brining recipes in the past, I will look no further! The turkey was incredibly juicy! Even my father who NEVER eats the white meat, was impressed at the flavor and no dryness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I used this recipe two years in a row and both times.... NO LEFTOVERS !!!! Who doesn't have Thanksgiving leftovers ?!?!? Me, that's who !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Excellent! My family complained about the smell of the brine the day before when I was heating it up. BUT, the day I cooked that turkey, they absolutely loved it, I got nothing but huge compliments! Thanks for the great brining recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oooyummy!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cameron Park, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Good basic to build from depending on your personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by love2cook
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This was delicious! I was so worried because when I found this recipe, I had already purchased a honeysuckle turkey and it already had a salt solution (8%) injected in it. After reading all over that I should not brine a turkey that already had this salt, i wasn't sure if I should brine. This was my 1st time brining and I followed the recipe exactly but I could not find any savory seasoning. I had a 14 lb turkey and I brined it for around 17-18 hours. I read many reviews from this recipe and others and I think it's important to rinse the bird off REALLY well after brining it! This should help the bird not taste as salty. I rinsed it for about 10 minutes in cold water, inside the bird and out, then patted dry. I didn't use any seasoning other than rubbing it with a little olive oil and some fresh ground pepper. If you use butter instead of Olive oil make sure you are not used a salted butter!! You can buy unsalted sticks! It cooked in 3 hours. It was SO moist and delicious. My dad was skeptical and he has cooked many years and has even brined himself. But when I told him I bought a honeysuckle he didn't think it would be good. It was SO GOOD! Don't let the reviews fool you, YOU CAN BRINE even if the bird was injected. I would cut the salt down to 3/4 cup or half a cup and don't forget to rinse the bird after you brine! You could even sit the bird in cold water for 15 minutes before patting dry to cook. I will always be brining from now on. Thanks for great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I brined my Thanksgiving turkey in this and it was a very lovely brine. It is pretty much a basic poultry brine but it made for a great turkey. I will definitely use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megallyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Everson, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 716) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Brine

This brine infuses your bird with flavor and makes it moist.

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How to Brine a Turkey

Discover the surprisingly simple secret to juicy, flavorful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States