Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I'm so excited to try this recipe. I'm new to this process and wonder if it would work using my jerk seasonings. Then I plan to smoke the turkey. Can someone comment on that, please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kymberli Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Fantastic! Made it exactly as the recipe called for with an 18lb bird. This was the first time I've brined a turkey, and it came out super moist and tender. So much better than any injectable marinaide! Instead of putting it in the fridge overnight, I sealed it in a stock pot and set it outside (25c here last night). Roasted the turkey in a 325 oven until the internal temp was 180, basting it every 45 minutes; came to about 4 hours in total. While my plan is to use the turkey for sandwhiches and soup this week, I wouldn't hesitate to put the whole bird on my thanksgiving table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
The best turkey recipe! My family and friends had all said it is juicy and really tastes good, served it for dinner last night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Anne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
great recipe. i brine for two days,( i use a 5 gallon or a 10 gallon water jug used for drinking water on construction sites) one night uncovered in roaster rack and pan in the refrigerator, then cook next day. put 1/2 inch water in pan and cook at 350 F. cook for one to two hours breast side down. this makes for awesome dark meat. then flip bird breast up and finish baking. no meat left behind! degrease the drippings for the best gravy. let turkey rest 30 minutes before carving to restore moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Incredible! I will never make a mother turkey and not use this recipe. The Savory is a little challenging to find but most natural foods stores have it. Try to find a turkey that hasn't been treated with solution for juiciness. Most frozen turkeys have been treated with a sodium solution to help retain moisture when cooked. If you do use a turkey that has had the solution, try to use low sodium stock if you plan to use the drippings for gravy otherwise it will be like tasty salt lick. Another tip: place the turkey breast side down for the first hour then turn it breast side up and continue cooking till done. Breast side down helps make the breast meat even more juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I've used this brine for 2 years now going on a 3rd. My Thanksgiving birds never tasted so good. I like to use half vegetable broth and half apple cider. It makes the most juiciest, flavorful bird with drippings to die for. Best gravy ever. I can't wait for Thanksgiving this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Used this a few times now. Always produces a moist turkey. I always brine in the refrigerator, never a cooler. If the fridges are all full (I have 3) then I remove other items and place them in the cooler - the bird gets priority!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jancamp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beamsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I have been cooking turkeys for years and for the first time I made this brine and soaked the 20 pound turkey in it for about 12 hours. Everyone raved about the moistness of the turkey. I will definitely use it again for cooking my turkey or any other meat I wish to have come out juicy. My girlfriend also marinates her pork loin roasts in a brine like this. She said they also come out juicy. not dry like before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This recipe made me look like a ROCKSTAR!!!! It made a complete difference in the moisture of the meat. My 15 guests were blown away at how tasty it was, compared to the normal butterball (which is good), but brining is a game changer. Thank You!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Warner Strauss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Dawn M.
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Followed recipe exactly. Moist beautiful grilled turkey! Meat was too salty however. Next time I will cut back on salt. Otherwise it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 757) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Brine

This brine infuses your bird with flavor and makes it moist.

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How to Brine a Turkey

Discover the surprisingly simple secret to juicy, flavorful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States