Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I use this brine every year for my holiday turkeys and also for chicken. My variation is as follows. I use chicken broth and apple juice and kosher salt. The trick is to simmer so the salt is fully dissolved. After brining, I follow "The World's Best Turkey" by Sarah on allrecipes. I put garlic butter under the skin and inject my turkey with Tony Chachere's cajun butter. An apple and onion in the cavity, into the turkey bag breast side down with a bottle of champagne. Half way through flip the turkey over for an hour then remove the bag to brown the skin. I have this down to a science and am not wavering. Haha. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sonora, California, USA
Living In: Snelling, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I made my first turkey on thanksgiving and it was amazing! I used the reviews of previous cooks and used regular salt instead of sea salt and used about 3/4 of a cup. It worked out great! The turkey was juicy and full of flavor! Definitely recommend using this brine recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Loved it! Perfect as is. I made no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelseyville, California, USA
Living In: Seymour, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Extra effort and expense, but worth it! Everyone loved the moist and tasty turkey. I've finally achieved a moist turkey! Just be sure the turkey is well thawed before brining, roast the turkey until internal temperature of thigh is 165 degrees F and then check at the thigh to see if juices are running clear. For my unstuffed 16lb turkey it took only 2.5 hours (at least 30 minutes faster than expected because of it having been brined for 9 hours).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I've used this for the last 2yrs and I love it!!! Thank you for the recipe the turkey was so tender and moist everyone raved about it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Will never not brine turkey again! YUM! Added apple juice like other reviewers suggested. Definitely worth the trouble!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie A

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Calabasas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This was great! my turkey turned out perfect due to this brine! by the way...this was my first year making Thanksgiving at my house, by myself. But regardless it was wonderful! Don't be afraid that the bird will be too salty, it won't! I brined my turkey for about 12 hours and it was perfect, when that carving knife went in for the first cut there was juice coming out, oozing out..of my turkey!!! And there was my satisfaction :) wouldn't have happened if not for the brining. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I doubled this recipe because I had a huge turkey and wanted to make sure that I had enough to fully immerse the turkey in the brine. I used a storage box, but purchased a big food safe plastic bag, and put the brine, including the iced water, in the plastic bag, and set it in the box, which had a secured lid. Then, I put the whole thing on the deck on a below freezing night and the brine did not freeze. This worked very well, though I was initially concerned that the the brine may not all fit in the bag. Be careful when removing the turkey. The bottom of the bag busted as I removed the turkey and I had a real mess on my hands. The turkey flavor was moist and delicious. Turning such a huge turkey is NOT easy. I actually tore the turkey a bit when turning it because the meat was so tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I'm a beginner cook. 1st time cooking for family. 1st recipe that I used from AllRecipes.COM. I shopped at the last minute and couldn't find a fresh turkey so I purchased two 6-7 pound roasting chickens. This was without question the moisted bird I have ever cooked. Wife complained it was too bland but the rest of my family really enjoyed. I look forward to using this recipe on a turkey as it called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 751) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey Brine

This brine infuses your bird with flavor and makes it moist.

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How to Brine a Turkey

Discover the surprisingly simple secret to juicy, flavorful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States