Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I actually haven't used the brine yet, I am trying it in a few days on my Thanksgiving turkey but I did want to give others a tip if they are contemplating trying this. Instead of buying pre=made veggie broth try buying the concentrated 4 pack made by Knorr it's called homestyle stock. It yields exactly 16 cups (one gallon) of broth and it only costs about $3.50 for a four pack. Can't wait to try this brine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AiliDeSpain

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Cannot even describe how amazing this was. My mom's turkeys have always been just okay, and so I decided to take charge for Easter dinner and make this. It was my first turkey and no one could believe how incredibly juicy, tender, and moist it was. I followed the recipe for the brine exactly, including just letting the bucket sit in a cool place overnight. To cook it, I put an onion, carrot and celery stalk into the cavity. It started breast side down in a 325 degree oven for 2 hours. Then I turned it over and it took another 45 minutes or so to be done. For the last 15 minutes I turned the oven up to 400 to finish browning and basted it with a little butter. Did not cover it with foil, and otherwise didn't bother basting it. The meat was literally falling off the bones it was so tender and the flavor went all through the meat. It was seriously about as foolproof as you could get. The only change I'll make next time is to either reduce the sea salt or substitute water for some of the vegetable broth. It was just a touch on the salty side, I think because broth is often high in salt to begin with. Don't be afraid to try this recipe, it really was that easy. Cannot recommend it enough.. and ditto the other reviewers' comments on the drippings -- they make amazing gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
This was amazing! Slightly expensive, but by far the best turkey we have ever had. Entire family complimented how juicy and flavorful it turned out...each holiday, this is what they ask for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Had the most moist turkey ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I made this last night and it was incredible! I was told by two of the women guests that it was the best turkey they had ever had!!!! The only thing I changed was to add 1 litre of apple juice and vegetable stock since I only had one box of the vegetable stock at home. I also added fresh sage, fresh chives, fresh tarragon, fresh savory and fresh tyme as I have a herb garden that needed to be harvested. I will definitely do this again and again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kyra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Golden, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Husband loved it so much he said he is going to cook the turkey this year and do the "soak" :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
We will use this EVERY YEAR!!! FABULOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I had a turkey in my deep freeze, it had been there for quite awhile. I found this recipe hoping it would moisten the bird back up. (longer you have a bird in a deep freeze, more likely it is to dry out from being in there for a couple of years) Not only did it bring moisture back into the bird, but it was the most juicy, tasty bird we had ever had! It made the best gravy too! This is a keeper. I will never cook another turkey without the brine ever again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberT

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I used this brine for our thanksgiving turkey. My mom liked it so much that she insisted we make another turkey for her birthday two weeks later. I am now the official thanksgiving chef of the family for the rest of my life because everyone loved this turkey so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Reiter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Loved the flavor this gave to our all natural turkey. I try to use this every thanksgiving because it really makes a difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 757) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Brine

This brine infuses your bird with flavor and makes it moist.

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How to Brine a Turkey

Discover the surprisingly simple secret to juicy, flavorful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States