Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rosalie Tromp
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I made this for this year's Xmas and all the guests loved it! The preparation was easy and it was not a problem getting the ingredients. I put the bird overnight in a 3 gallon bucket due to little storage place in the fridge, and around midnight I turned it upside down so the other side could brine. I cooked it for more than 2.20 hrs. (Around 4 hrs. ) checking on it continously. I will be repeating this recipe for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Whole family agreed, best turkey ever! Brined 48 hours instead of overnight, juicest and best tasting I've every had. Try this you wont be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen Lunsford- England

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This was my first time cooking a turkey,and did so, on Christmas under the watchful eye of seasoned turkey cookers of my mother and mother in law. I NAILED it with this brine and the "perfect" turkey recipe also on this site. (note the perfect turkey recipe has a brine mixture I didn't follow, I just picked up at the cooking process) First, My turkey was 16lbs. We made the recipe according to plan but I hesitated and added only 3/4 cup of salt and used fresh rosemary and thyme because I had it. I used an extra tetra pack of veg broth as well just to cover the bird. I made the brine and let it sit for a couple hours to reach room temp then we placed everything into a Coleman Cooler and topped it with 3 ziploc bags of ice. It stayed outside on the patio and remained between 2-4 degrees for almost 24 hours. After brining, i rinsed it well, placed it in the roasted and continued on with the "perfect turkey"recipe. This turkey was so moist and delicious. I am incredibly happy and will never not brine a turkey again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Because I use a bag to cook my turkey and the box comes with two bags, I used the extra bag for the brine and placed it in the bottom drawer of my fridge. When it was time to cook, I moved the turkey to the other bag for cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
A quick and simple brining recipe! I used a roasting bag rather than a bucket and brined the turkey overnight in the fridge. I've found that when you brine a turkey you don't need to use a bag to roast it in, as the brine keeps the moisture inside. I honestly would rather not use a bag because it makes the skin rubbery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Matthews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I use this recipe every year for thanksgiving and Christmas. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sampson Johnson
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Great recipe! My 1st time smoking a turkey and it was a big hit. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sampson Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I used this for a turkey breast. I made a turkey and sausage gumbo, but I like to roast the turkey first before adding it to the gumbo. I adjusted the recipe to 5 servings, and had plenty to cover the breast in a gallon sized Ziploc baggie overnight. I didn't have any savory in my spice cabinet, so I substituted in some poultry seasoning. I also added a few whole black peppercorns to the brine while it boiled. I baked off the breast as normal, and it was really tasty. In fact, while hubby and I were picking the meat off the bone, he was shoveling in it. I couldn't fuss at him, cause I was doing the same thing! This is the first turkey in a while where my husband ate the leftover, so that's a great compliment (usually I freeze the cooked meat to use later...not on this bird!). This is a definite keeper, and I will be trying this out when I roast chickens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebree, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Farmington, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I used this brine with a 16.5 lb turkey for Thanksgiving this year. While the turkey was flavorful and delicious I took away a star because prepping and cooking it was trickier than I expected and the meat had a softer (mushy?) texture I found unappealing. The turkey did cook faster than expected, the wings in particular browned in less than an hour so you may want to put foil over the wings and legs while the breast cooks. While it tasted great, I don't think I'll be doing this recipe again. It was very time consuming and difficult to execute. I used an XXL Ziploc storage bag (which is food safe) to brine the turkey and placed it in a cooler with ice because the whole thing was not going to fit in my fridge. I'm going back to stuffing my bird with citrus and fresh herbs, much easier and less time consuming with delicious results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabrina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This is a amazing recipe. The turkey is moist and flavorful. It was such a hit with the family that I making a second turkey for Christmas. I will stuff the second turkey with celery and apples... This was my first time trying brine. It is well worth the extra time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 751) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey Brine

This brine infuses your bird with flavor and makes it moist.

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How to Brine a Turkey

Discover the surprisingly simple secret to juicy, flavorful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States