Turkey Breast with Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I use this gravy recipe whether I am making a breast or who.e turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEGT2865

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I didn’t bother with either the celery or the onion. I rubbed the breast all over with butter rather than cooking spray, then with the combined seasonings. Lemon pepper didn’t appeal to me so I substituted a new seasoning I’ve been wanting to try, “McCormick’s Grill Mates Smokehouse Maple Seasoning,” along with the remaining spices as directed. I had a 6.69 pound breast, and it was cooked to a perfect 170-175 degrees in just under 2-1/2 hours. I would suggest NOT cooking the turkey to the 185 degrees as this recipe directs. I did not baste it at all – not only is that not necessary, but by not doing so, I was rewarded with a nicely browned turkey breast with crispy skin, that most certainly didn’t take as long to cook as it would have had I opened the oven door every half hour. While the turkey rested, I made my gravy as I normally do – with the pan drippings, flour and chicken broth. This was so moist and tender, and the recipe, for the most part, is a good foundational recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Staci
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I made this exactly as directed. It was dry, every time I basted the breast, it just rinsed the seasonings off of it. I prefer a high heat for the first 30 minutes to crispen the seasonings into the breast and then be able to baste without worries. We won't make this again, sorry :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ukiah, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
First time I ever cooked turkey for Thanksgiving. I was looking for a smaller version from a whole bird and this was just the ticket. I really liked the splice blend. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
The seasoning made the gravy to die for!! I did add chicken broth to the pan to keep it moist and add to the gravy. I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
We like lemon pepper so I thought this would be a 5 star for us. The rub resulted in a pretty turkey breast and the gravy looked fantastic, but taste-wise, it was off for us. Would have been much better on chicken. Like most reviewers, I used chicken broth in the pan instead of water (about 1 quart, but my roasting pan is huge). Timewise, my not quite 6lb breast took almost 3 hrs at 325 (and my oven runs a bit hot) to reach 175. Am glad we tried it but won'tmake with turkey again. Will modify for chicken breasts and try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Very moist and lots of flavor. Made it just as it states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worthington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
So simple and juicy! Check occassionally, ie when basting/injecting, to make sure water does not completely evaporate. Add some, if necessary. We did not make gravy, so let turkey rest covered in aluminum foil for 10 minutes before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This was SO perfect. I did have a little trouble getting the breast to stand up with the onion and celery "inside" it. And, also I only baked until my meat thermometer got to 165....after taking it out and letting it stand it had risen to 180 (I looked this up on Emeril's site). It was absolutely perfect. This was the first time I didn't use a turkey baking bag...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Sounds delicious. What modifications are necessary for a 12 pound bone in turkey breast?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States