Turkey Breakfast Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I thought this was a very good base recipe. I used regular 85/15 ground turkey, added garlic powder, onion powder, Worcestershire sauce, ground savory, Mrs Dash lemon pepper, and ground ginger. I also upped the rest of the herbs. I do think it's a bit sweet so next time I'll cut back to 1 tsp sugar and add 1 tsp molasses. I may add some ground sumac, and ground mustard, too. Those of you with dry sausage may have a couple of problems: Using ground turkey *breast*. There isn't enough fat to keep the sausage moist. Add some oil, or softened butter, and you'll be back in business! Giving in to the temptation to squish the patties down while cooking. Never do that, with any kind of party! If it's not flat enough then fix that in the forming stage, not the cooking stage. It squeezes all the juices into the pan :-( Or you could be simply overcooking it. Make sure you keep an eye on these, and use a timer if you have to. I have two little kids, so timers are common here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SammySam
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
My family really enjoyed how the sausage came out even without the last three ingredients. The sage, which I had, was the key. I also used onion and garlic powder and paparika. I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Imake this for my wife and she really likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy Sivley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Just made this for breakfast . Our household is transitioning to leaner meats, this was perfect. The only change I made is , when I mixed the ingredients into the turkey I added about 1/2 to 1 teaspoon of organic maple syrup into the mixture. I really enjoyed the recipe , even my four year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This is the best turkey sausage recipe. I added a small onion and garlic and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don Johnston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This recipe is FANTASTIC! I used lean turkey, not extra lean. I also cut the recipe in half so it would work with the 1.25-pound packages from the store. I divided it into 10 balls (5 servings), smooshed them in the heated pan (medium and sprayed with Pam) and cooked 3 minutes on one side and 4 minutes on the other. They could NOT have been better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keema Kit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
My wife loves it and after tasting myself it's better than any sausage bought in the store. Did not have ground thyme and will cut back on the salt. Thanks This recipe is great. Ideas are flowing now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I thought these tasted good, but honestly felt like it was more reminiscent of a turkey burger in flavor than a sausage patty. There is another recipe for turkey sausage on the site, that I tweak and make a bit sweeter that I liked more. This has more of a heat taste to it. I followed the recipe exactly, only making 1/2 recipe and further cutting the hot red pepper flakes in half. Glad I did that, because these were plenty hot. The cook times were way off. I sat over the stove 25 plus minutes. At temp 7 they wanted to burn. At low, or temp 3, the internal temp would not move. Something in-between that would be good. I felt like I was standing over the stove forever. I finally gave up on my thermometer registering the best temp, because the patties would have been completely dry at that time. If I made again, I would add more sweetener, less heat, and probably broil them. The salt and pepper could be reduced some too. I got 9 thick patties and cooked them in 1 tablespoon of grapeseed oil. Loved the calories count at 91 each, including the cooking oil, using lean turkey meat. I may make these in the future, with the intent for sandwiches though and stick to my other recipe for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
So yummy, thank you. Very tasty and moist. I might add a little more salt next time, but I used pre-packaged ground turkey and likely had more than 2 pounds. I also might try just a touch of garlic. Saving this recipe right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
I added some maple sugar, it gives it a sweet maple flavour.... Too good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey Sausage Breakfast

See how to make this savory breakfast casserole.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States