Turkey Bone Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I made this in my crockpot today. I made my broth with water, as I didn't want my broth overpowering OR to have extra salt. I sauteed my veggies, including carrot rings, in a mixture of EVOO and butter before adding it to the stock. I also added a couple bay leaves. We don't really like kidney beans or frozen peas and carrots, so we omitted those. This works really well in the crockpot, just add the rice in right before serving. TIP: Add in your leftover gravy. It not only thickens your soup a bit, it adds another layer of flavor! It's great to add in your leftover veggies, too, just to use everything up in one fell swoop. That's the great thing about turkey soup, it's so forgiving and you can make it work to feed everyone you know. EDITED REVIEW: Yes, I add my leftover gravy. I make sure to add cold gravy that I've skimmed off the fat previously. You can prevent fat issues by cooling the soup before serving so you can skim off the fat, if you so choose. You can cut corners and use a canned gravy, which makes the soup taste great with little effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Good recipe - we made it without the beans and liked it. My only complaint doesn't have anything to do with the original recipe, but with a suggestion I took from another review of adding your leftover gravy to this recipe. I guess ours was really fatty because once we'd added it, it made the broth very oily. Just a heads up. As for the recipe, it's easy to make in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I basically used this recipe and instructions for making turkey stock, except I used water instead of chicken broth. I then boiled carrots, celery, and noodles in the stock for turkey noodle soup. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
great recipe, I ommited chicken broth and added Wild rice (I now live in minnesota) and Okra (mmm southern goodness) I'm from the south. Good bachelor chow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This soup turned out pretty good! Actually the best that I've ever made. I never followed a recipe before, so that's probably why! haha Wasn't too sure about the kidney beans, but had them in the cupboard, so I threw them in. They were great :) I will follow this recipe again in the future. oh! I forgot to mention that instead of adding the frozen veggies, I added the leftover steamed veggies from thanksgiving dinner. So I threw in the carrots, broccoli, and brussel sprouts into the blender with the 1/2 cups of stock. I also only had 1/2 cup of rice, so I added a 1/2 cup of orzo. I found that this soup was even better the second day... and with a couple squirts of smoky tabasco in my bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I didnt do the part about putting it all in a blender. I put the stock in the refridgerator overnight to skim off the fat the next day. I used a can of butter beans and Rice a Roni, long grain rice, and some brown rice. It came out great, didn't really have to use any more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by biggirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Leandro, California, USA
Living In: Union City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Delish! My family likes their food spiced up and my soups have alwalys been bland. I followed this recipe to a T with one exception- I used orzo instead of rice. Perfect blend of seasonings to give it a perfect kick. Will definitelly make this again and again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Used a leftover rotisserie chx, so I only boiled it for one hour. Followed the rest of the recipe and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
We found the meat from the bones was quite enough without adding the additional breast. A good, wholesome average soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Have tried to make a good turkey bone soup 3 times, this is my third recipe. First, the photo is unappetizing. Mine did not look like that, mine was more green from the oregano, basil and frozen spinach I added. The recipe was very easy to make. Hubby did not like it, I thought it tasted okay but nothing to brag about. I liked the kidney beans, never had a turkey bone soup recipe with them before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States