Turkey Bolognese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
This is my first time making sauce with ground turkey. At first I was skeptical and pensive. I could not imagine that it would come close to the sauce I usually make (ground beef and pork.) However, I was pleasantly surprised. The taste was great, my Italian, chef husband was very impressed. I did not include the pepper, just personal preference. The sauce was even better the second day. Healthy and taste great, you can't beat that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
I had high expectations for this recipe and it just wasn't what I expected. After four hours of simmering and the addition of extra garlic and extra jalapeno, it didn't taste like anything, though it smelled wonderful. I began making additions to help the recipe since I was having company for dinner and didn't want to serve it as it was. I added salt, pepper, garlic powder, red pepper flakes, and worcestershire. That helped give it flavor but we all agreed it was still missing something. I am really shocked that the recipe doesn't call for any salt or other seasonings. I have made bolognese before and though it seemed like a recipe that should work, it just didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SFORD1024

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Chester Springs, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RUBES1
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
I've been looking for a good turkey bolognese, as my entire family has high cholesterol (genetically). Turkey is also a great source of iron. I used soy milk in place of milk. I omitted the jalepeno, because I didn't have any, but ground in a spice mix of garlic, chilli, and basil. I also added in a little dried oregano. Also, I had a leftover zuchinni to use up, so I grated that up & added it in. It came out great. I put it over penne instead of spaghetti, because it's my favorite pasta. I also did not grate parmesan cheese over because we keep kosher & we can't mix dairy products with meat. This is a great recipe! I'm posting a picture of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUBES1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
Absolutely awesome. This is a great sauce that isn't too heavy for your pasta dish. We adjusted the recipe a little to add more spice: more jalapeno, more garlic, more basil, and a Tablespoon of dry cooking sherry to add a little kick. I served it over wheat spaghetti with Parmesean cheese as a garnish, and it was fabulous! I will definitely be making this recipe again. It smells wonderful as it is cooking (I halved the recipe and cooked it for 1.5 hours after all of the ingredients were stirred together), and it looks very impressive. Thanks for this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBER-SAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
This was great! I let is simmer about 5 hours, instead of the suggested 3 - and used bell pepper instead of the jalepeno. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
We absolutely love this recipe. It is delicious. I have never had the time to simmer it for three hours but it is always super tasty after an hour. Sometimes we add an extra jar of sauce to thicken it up. We also put it on top of spaghetti squash instead of regular pasta, mmmm delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by melpy
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Thought we would like this more from the reviews. Thinking next time to use a mixture of ground veal, pork and beef...seemed the meat wasn't flavorful enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melpy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
TOO DELICIOUS! THANKS, My whole family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cecy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maracaibo, Zulia, Venezuela
Living In: Hanover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
easy and great in a time crunch! no need for the 3 hrs (1hr fine) but always better when you let simmer longer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
This is a fantastic recipe. I would recommend using rigatoni or similar noodles instead of spaghetti. I used spaghetti on the 1st try. For leftovers, I mixed the remaining sauce with rigatoni. I'll definitely make this many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Turkey Tetrazzini

Learn how to make delicious, creamy tetrazzini with leftover turkey meat.

Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey

A secret ingredient helps create a succulent holiday turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States