Turkey Bolognese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
Absolutely awesome. This is a great sauce that isn't too heavy for your pasta dish. We adjusted the recipe a little to add more spice: more jalapeno, more garlic, more basil, and a Tablespoon of dry cooking sherry to add a little kick. I served it over wheat spaghetti with Parmesean cheese as a garnish, and it was fabulous! I will definitely be making this recipe again. It smells wonderful as it is cooking (I halved the recipe and cooked it for 1.5 hours after all of the ingredients were stirred together), and it looks very impressive. Thanks for this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBER-SAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
This is a fantastic sauce! My husband loved it and he is really hard to please. I left out the jalepenos because my 8 year old doesn't like spicy foods, but I could definitely see it being fantastic with the spice too. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RUBES1
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
I've been looking for a good turkey bolognese, as my entire family has high cholesterol (genetically). Turkey is also a great source of iron. I used soy milk in place of milk. I omitted the jalepeno, because I didn't have any, but ground in a spice mix of garlic, chilli, and basil. I also added in a little dried oregano. Also, I had a leftover zuchinni to use up, so I grated that up & added it in. It came out great. I put it over penne instead of spaghetti, because it's my favorite pasta. I also did not grate parmesan cheese over because we keep kosher & we can't mix dairy products with meat. This is a great recipe! I'm posting a picture of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUBES1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
Fantastic! I cut it in half (it still made quite a bit) and omitted the jalapenos. I also put two whole carrots (minced) and garlic salt to taste (in addition to the cloves of fresh garlic. I've been looking for more recipes that use ground turkey and this one is definitely worthy!! Will make again soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
This is a fantastic recipe. I would recommend using rigatoni or similar noodles instead of spaghetti. I used spaghetti on the 1st try. For leftovers, I mixed the remaining sauce with rigatoni. I'll definitely make this many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
Delicious! I also included mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
This is my first time making sauce with ground turkey. At first I was skeptical and pensive. I could not imagine that it would come close to the sauce I usually make (ground beef and pork.) However, I was pleasantly surprised. The taste was great, my Italian, chef husband was very impressed. I did not include the pepper, just personal preference. The sauce was even better the second day. Healthy and taste great, you can't beat that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I frequently go to great lengths to make recipes online with mediocre results. This was EASY, and smells amazing. (I added chili pepper flakes, a splash of worcestershire, tobasco, and fresh ground pepper to give it some kick). Hooray, a recipe worth the effort! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
Outstanding! Both my husband and I loved it! I followed the recipe exactly. I grated 2 green jalapenos but will use 3 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
This sauce was great! It was very simple to do. I think using fresh basil adds just a bit more flavor :) Overall I give this an A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Turkey Tetrazzini

Learn how to make delicious, creamy tetrazzini with leftover turkey meat.

Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey

A secret ingredient helps create a succulent holiday turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States