Turkey Bolognese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Not bad. I left out the jalapenos, added extra cheese and used shredded leftover Thanksgiving turkey (primarily the dark meat).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This sauce was okay. I substituted chicken broth for the white wine and omitted the jalepenos, maybe making it as written would have given me better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
What did I do wrong? I kept waiting for it to "reduce" with the milk and the wine, after 20 minutes with each it didn't so I drained off some liquid and moved to the next step. Then let it simmer the 3 hours with the tomatoes. It was just ok - definitely not a repeat for me. Had to add salt and pepper to make it taste better too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
This was a too watery for me -- almost like a soup. However, I did like the flavor (although I added Italian seasoning & salt).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
I had high expectations for this recipe and it just wasn't what I expected. After four hours of simmering and the addition of extra garlic and extra jalapeno, it didn't taste like anything, though it smelled wonderful. I began making additions to help the recipe since I was having company for dinner and didn't want to serve it as it was. I added salt, pepper, garlic powder, red pepper flakes, and worcestershire. That helped give it flavor but we all agreed it was still missing something. I am really shocked that the recipe doesn't call for any salt or other seasonings. I have made bolognese before and though it seemed like a recipe that should work, it just didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SFORD1024

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Chester Springs, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by melpy
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Thought we would like this more from the reviews. Thinking next time to use a mixture of ground veal, pork and beef...seemed the meat wasn't flavorful enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melpy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
This was great! I let is simmer about 5 hours, instead of the suggested 3 - and used bell pepper instead of the jalepeno. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
We absolutely love this recipe. It is delicious. I have never had the time to simmer it for three hours but it is always super tasty after an hour. Sometimes we add an extra jar of sauce to thicken it up. We also put it on top of spaghetti squash instead of regular pasta, mmmm delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Marcano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
I was feeding toddlers so I omitted the jalepenos and I added a bunch of frozen peas and alot of fresh spinach (it shrinks so much it feels like alot). This sauce was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plantation, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
TOO DELICIOUS! THANKS, My whole family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cecy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maracaibo, Zulia, Venezuela
Living In: Hanover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Turkey Tetrazzini

Learn how to make delicious, creamy tetrazzini with leftover turkey meat.

Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey

A secret ingredient helps create a succulent holiday turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States