Turducken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This dish was fantastic the turkey wasn't dry at all and the duck was very moist. I now make this every year for thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Made this recipe and it was a huge hit. Served 12 people and still had half of the turducken left. I modified the recipe a little bit based on Pookiethebear's suggenstions. I did not skin the duck which is one thing I would change the next time around. Stuffing between the Turkey and the duck was a Cornbread and Andouille Stuffing. Then I used the potato stuffing suggested by Pookiethebear followed by the wild rice stuffing. Cornbread and Andouille stuffing was taken from holacuisine. I used a jiffy cornbread with cream style corn recipe. The stuffing was all cooked and hot just before the birds were stuffed. Done to prevent bacteria spread. Bird was placed breast down in a roasting pan with a rack and was ready in a little over 5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I skipped the sausage and oyster part of this recipe, but followed it otherwise. Sort of a tight fit to get the chicken and duck in the turkey. I had to use lots of kitchen twine and sew it up as I packed the meat in. Turned out really well though. I cooked mine in an oil-less fryer for about 3.5-4 hours. Deboning was a pain (easy, but took a while), but it went well. I paired this with the "Easy Turkey Gravy" recipe from allrecipes, and it was perfect. I used McCormick cajun seasoning and sprinkled it between all the layers. I then rubbed the outside of the turkey in olive oil and cajun seasoning before frying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
It was a lot of work, but wow was it good! We had 12 people to dinner for Christmas and was a hit! I was surprised that the duck made such a great impact on the rest of the meats. Will make it again, when I have a lot of time to pull it off. Next time I may not go through all the trouble to make it look like a Turkey. I may just roll it all into a loaf shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
great flavor. college favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by numbr1westsida

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I made a practice round of this a couple weeks ago and its amazing! My sister in law always makes it and we are having it for Thanksgiving!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
I lived in england for five years and this was more popular there (maybe due to oven space when feeding a large group). Interesting flavors, don't know if I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by c-biskit
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
The Turducken was tremendous, and less work than we anticipated. The butcher boned the birds, which, unless you're Jacque Pepin, is the only way to go. It's your typical thanksgiving turkey, only thrice as nice! Actually, nicer still b/c with the birds all boned, the potentially destructive art of carving is removed: you slice straight through the layers of poultry and stuffing. It's like rouladen or a yule log. The ONLY downside: the price. We got ours at WholeFoods, and the pricetag really put the po' in poultry three ways. Leftovers for days, though. I would NOT drink red burgundy or Oregon Pinot Noir with this again. It was better with a bolder wine: Exceptional with a Spanish Ribera del Duero.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by c-biskit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I tried this for the first time and it was great. I wouldnt suggest using as much oyster as that stuffing recipes calls for becasue it wiill throw the flavor of the turducken off. Instead I used a cajun dressing recipe and added sausage to that and it made the recipe a 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Duck can be dicey. It works in this recipe though. In my area, several grocery stores carry these pre-stuffed and ready to roast, which is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folsom, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turducken

Here it is! Chicken inside a duck, inside a turkey, with savory stuffing.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States