Tuppakaka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I'm in love! The only tweak I made was to add a bit of almond extract (and I do think that does make a nice added punch). This was quickly thrown together with staple pantry ingredients and WILL be my new last minute company dessert go to. It would also be a delightful sweet brunch side. I love it. THANKS for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
My Swedish Grandmother made this cake when my Mom was growing up on a farm in eastern MT a very long time ago - so was surprised to see this version of it on line and delighted to find other fans of this classic recipe. Almond extract and a few spoonfuls of apple pie filling are good additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Full stars for a short and easy ingredient list and being ready in less than half an hour. This is something I can whip up when I know people are coming to visit that doesn't take forever to make or bake. The taste is very good and it looks elegant when presented. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
such an eay recipe. I added 1 tablespoon of amond extract, and it tasted like almond fingers that you but. Fab. They keep well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Yum! Especially with the Almond extract. Definitely a keeper - the ingredients are always on hand, and it's so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
Baked this twice. The first time the breadcrumbs all burnt and the cake was overcooked at 25 minutes. But it still tasted good! The second time I omitted teh breadcrumbs and used a greased and floured pan, lowered the temp to 375, and baked it for about 22 minutes. It had a much better texture. This is such a simple and exotic cake to make-- i will add it to my list of go-to desserts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
I made this for a co-workers birthday and everyone demanded the recipe! It was easy to do, and a fun entertainment piece. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
This is a fabulous cake! It is so easy and simple to make and I love the slightly dense, moist and crackly meringue top. This recipe is pretty exact, and I have found that if I try to mess with this recipe in just about any way, it turns into a normal cake without the moistness and meringue top. When I have changed the bread crumbs or mixed too much air into this recipe, or tried to half this recipe I am ususally dissappointed (I think halving the egg is tough and too much egg makes it dry). But give this cake a try and be exact the first time through. It is Elegant and fabulous alone, or with Breyers French Vanilla Ice cream, Hazelnuts and strawberries on the side
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
definitely the quickest and easieast cake I've ever made! I added 1/2 tsp. vanilla and topped mine with ground pecans instead of the almonds (like pecans better) -- it doesn't rise much, but the taste is pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
hi, i tried this cake and although it was quite tasty, it turned out a bit like a normal sponge cake. i used ground almonds instead of flakes which probably didn't help, it wasn't at all gooey inside. any tips on how to make it better? my oven is an old non-fan-assisted one, and i tried compensating by cooking at about 215 degrees c. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States