Tunnel of Fudge Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2001
This is really wonderful! The prep time is fast, the cooking time is somewhat long, but worth the wait! I didn't have enough icing sugar to make the glaze so I just took a sieve and sprinkled the icing sugar on top and it looked great! The people at work loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Christoval, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2002
I made this on Januray 1st:) It was very easy and it looked beautiful when ready. I reduced oven temperature to 300F and time of baking to 50 minutes ( my oven gets really hot!) It came out perfectly. Taste was ok, not great. I think it was too dry, so did my husband. My daughter liked it. I've never had this cake before, so I believe this is how it is suppose to be, as everything worked out fine. I might try it again, maybe increasing the butter a bit? I'll take to the office tomorrow and post my co-workers opinion later. Thanks:) Ok! I'm back.. I didn't take to the office, and after two days it tasted really good. Me and my daughter kept eating it:) I think it needed time to seat..I'll be doing it again:) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRISAK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
Oh Thank You Annie! I used to make this cake back in the 60s but my recipe called for boxed frosting mix. After the introduction of frosting-in-a-tub the boxed mixes disappeared. I made this cake yesterday and it is fabulous. I'd been having a terrible day and I needed an extra chocolate buzz so I doubled your frosting recipe and added 1 tsp of vanilla. OMG! This cake is to die for!!! Thanks again Annie! ****************** TO ISLANDREST: I guess the word fudge is a bit confusing. It's more a 'fudgey-like' layer about 2/3 of the way down inside of the cake. I'm going to make this cake again today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
I am really confused, There was not a tunnel of fudge inside this cake. Did I prepare incorrectly? I liked the cake but was disappointed that there was not a tunnel of fudge
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
This cake was extremely heavy and more like fudge. My boyfriend has been wanting me to make this for him (his grandmother used to make it)...but I have yet to find the right recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
This cake if fabulous! My family gobbled it up b4 it was cooled. I will make this again and again. Lovely fudgy center. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabaEva

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2004
i love this recipe! for those of you who have tried it and could not get the tunnel of fudge, i suggest you experiment on the baking temperature and the baking time. the first time i did this, i followed the recipe to the letter. the result was a very small tunnel. the next time i did this, i used a lower temperature for baking and 55 minutes baking time. the tunnel was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
Well, I should have known better than to deviate from my mom's recipe, but I thought I would give this one a try. Who knows, maybe I did something wrong, but this cake did not turn out like I thought it should. There was a tunnel of fudge, but the cake fell considerably when cooling and was very splotchy looking. So the appearance was a negative to me. Also, the cakey part just wasn't as sweet as I thought it should be. I know the glaze adds sweetness, but it could have been better. I probably won't try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
HELP!!! Not sure wht i did wrong. The batter was very thick. The cake overflowed fro the pan as it cooked, but fell quite a bit as it was done. Any suggestions? The flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
This cake certainly looks beautiful. I made the cake this morning for an Hors D'oeuvre and Dessert party tonight. However, after reading the reviews, I decided I had better try the cake first. I am disappointed in the dry crumbly texture of this cake. There was no tunnel of fudge, only a few moist morsels in the crumbly mess. It tasted quite chocolatey and rich, but I will have to dream up some plan for a presentable serving of this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States