Tunnel of Fudge Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2001
This is really wonderful! The prep time is fast, the cooking time is somewhat long, but worth the wait! I didn't have enough icing sugar to make the glaze so I just took a sieve and sprinkled the icing sugar on top and it looked great! The people at work loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Christoval, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2002
I made this on Januray 1st:) It was very easy and it looked beautiful when ready. I reduced oven temperature to 300F and time of baking to 50 minutes ( my oven gets really hot!) It came out perfectly. Taste was ok, not great. I think it was too dry, so did my husband. My daughter liked it. I've never had this cake before, so I believe this is how it is suppose to be, as everything worked out fine. I might try it again, maybe increasing the butter a bit? I'll take to the office tomorrow and post my co-workers opinion later. Thanks:) Ok! I'm back.. I didn't take to the office, and after two days it tasted really good. Me and my daughter kept eating it:) I think it needed time to seat..I'll be doing it again:) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRISAK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
Oh Thank You Annie! I used to make this cake back in the 60s but my recipe called for boxed frosting mix. After the introduction of frosting-in-a-tub the boxed mixes disappeared. I made this cake yesterday and it is fabulous. I'd been having a terrible day and I needed an extra chocolate buzz so I doubled your frosting recipe and added 1 tsp of vanilla. OMG! This cake is to die for!!! Thanks again Annie! ****************** TO ISLANDREST: I guess the word fudge is a bit confusing. It's more a 'fudgey-like' layer about 2/3 of the way down inside of the cake. I'm going to make this cake again today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
I am really confused, There was not a tunnel of fudge inside this cake. Did I prepare incorrectly? I liked the cake but was disappointed that there was not a tunnel of fudge
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
This cake was extremely heavy and more like fudge. My boyfriend has been wanting me to make this for him (his grandmother used to make it)...but I have yet to find the right recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
This cake if fabulous! My family gobbled it up b4 it was cooled. I will make this again and again. Lovely fudgy center. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabaEva

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2004
i love this recipe! for those of you who have tried it and could not get the tunnel of fudge, i suggest you experiment on the baking temperature and the baking time. the first time i did this, i followed the recipe to the letter. the result was a very small tunnel. the next time i did this, i used a lower temperature for baking and 55 minutes baking time. the tunnel was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
Well, I should have known better than to deviate from my mom's recipe, but I thought I would give this one a try. Who knows, maybe I did something wrong, but this cake did not turn out like I thought it should. There was a tunnel of fudge, but the cake fell considerably when cooling and was very splotchy looking. So the appearance was a negative to me. Also, the cakey part just wasn't as sweet as I thought it should be. I know the glaze adds sweetness, but it could have been better. I probably won't try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
HELP!!! Not sure wht i did wrong. The batter was very thick. The cake overflowed fro the pan as it cooked, but fell quite a bit as it was done. Any suggestions? The flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
This cake certainly looks beautiful. I made the cake this morning for an Hors D'oeuvre and Dessert party tonight. However, after reading the reviews, I decided I had better try the cake first. I am disappointed in the dry crumbly texture of this cake. There was no tunnel of fudge, only a few moist morsels in the crumbly mess. It tasted quite chocolatey and rich, but I will have to dream up some plan for a presentable serving of this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States