Tunnel of Fudge Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2001
I was only going to give a so-so reveiw, but the cake tasted MUCH better the next day! Not that it was bad the first day, but you know what I mean! A couple of notes...don't use all of the milk for the glaze! WAY TOO MUCH! Start with just a couple of tbsp, and work your way up until you get a good drizzling consistancy. Also, I found it impossible to add the fudge filling without touching the sides of the pan...but it turned out fine. Just make sure that your pan is well greased and floured. Cake would also be good without the fudge filling. Nice and dense!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2000
I have been searching for this recipe, my mother made it for my birthday every year... this year she passed on ... and I couldn't find the recipe in her r-box. Is A DEVINE Cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
This cake came out dark, rich and moist. The kids got into it when the pudding "tunnel" was still warm and they raved at how good it was. I followed the recipe exactly with spectacular results. The cake itself was much darker than in the photo with a delicious strong dark chocolate taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Waterdown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
My SO made this for my birthday this past month and it was a hit at my party! I will agree with other posters that while the flavor is good and the filling is the best part, the cake part is a bit dry and dense, but that can easily be resolved by putting a slice in the microwave before eating. Adding a scoop of vanilla ice cream on the side does wonders as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BacardiGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manly, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
I'm giving this 4 stars because I like the idea of it and it was fun to make... and I would make it again, but with certain changes. I would use vanilla pudding with white chocolate chips or maybe butterscotch pudding with butterscotch chips and I'd use a different type of glaze on top. For me and my husband the cake was pure chocolate and for us it was way to rich and powerful. I took this cake to a church activity and it was gobbled up... apparently there are a lot of dark chocolate lovers at my church. So if you like dark chocolate - this cake is for you. If not, I'd say it's a good idea to try your own ideas - like I will do next time using white chocolate... Tunnel of White Chocolate Fudge - I like the sound of that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarKitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Nevada, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I made this cake for my mother's birthday, and it was a huge success! It is a very rich, dense cake... very impressive, unusual, and good for special occasions. The only suggestion I might have is to sift the cocoa and powdered sugar together before mixing with the milk for the glaze. My sugar was a bit clumpy and by the time I realised it, it was already on the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradley, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bourbonnais, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
I have attempted to make this cake with several different recipes. This is the best recipe I have found. The only problem I had was the first set of instructions. It said to make the non-instant pudding as directed, BUT with 1.5 cups of milk (directions on non-instant pudding called for 2 cups of milk). Overall, it was an easy cake to make that people awed at!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2000
My mother and I have been looking for this recipe for years. My dad likes it every year for his birthday. I am so glad that we found it. It is so gooey, chocolatey and yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
I don't agree this cake is too dry. It does not taste like a boxed cake, more like my grandmother's cakes she used to bake. I did use buttermilk instead of regular milk. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2000
This cake is so moist and chocolaty. I am the new star at the office!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States