Tunnel of Fudge Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
I'm giving this 4 stars because I like the idea of it and it was fun to make... and I would make it again, but with certain changes. I would use vanilla pudding with white chocolate chips or maybe butterscotch pudding with butterscotch chips and I'd use a different type of glaze on top. For me and my husband the cake was pure chocolate and for us it was way to rich and powerful. I took this cake to a church activity and it was gobbled up... apparently there are a lot of dark chocolate lovers at my church. So if you like dark chocolate - this cake is for you. If not, I'd say it's a good idea to try your own ideas - like I will do next time using white chocolate... Tunnel of White Chocolate Fudge - I like the sound of that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarKitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Nevada, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
I don't agree this cake is too dry. It does not taste like a boxed cake, more like my grandmother's cakes she used to bake. I did use buttermilk instead of regular milk. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
This cake was very dry, but I loved the tunnel of fudge.I will use the filling in a regular cake mix! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I made this cake for my mother's birthday, and it was a huge success! It is a very rich, dense cake... very impressive, unusual, and good for special occasions. The only suggestion I might have is to sift the cocoa and powdered sugar together before mixing with the milk for the glaze. My sugar was a bit clumpy and by the time I realised it, it was already on the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradley, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bourbonnais, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
I have attempted to make this cake with several different recipes. This is the best recipe I have found. The only problem I had was the first set of instructions. It said to make the non-instant pudding as directed, BUT with 1.5 cups of milk (directions on non-instant pudding called for 2 cups of milk). Overall, it was an easy cake to make that people awed at!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
It was the the T of F cake my husband grew up with but the flavor was good, it came out of the oven perfect, and made a pretty looking cake. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinaMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sedona, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
Not as gooey as I was hoping for and kind of dry on the outer layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2001
I was only going to give a so-so reveiw, but the cake tasted MUCH better the next day! Not that it was bad the first day, but you know what I mean! A couple of notes...don't use all of the milk for the glaze! WAY TOO MUCH! Start with just a couple of tbsp, and work your way up until you get a good drizzling consistancy. Also, I found it impossible to add the fudge filling without touching the sides of the pan...but it turned out fine. Just make sure that your pan is well greased and floured. Cake would also be good without the fudge filling. Nice and dense!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2001
The cake was pretty good, but not the best chocolate cake I've ever had (or made). Was a bit too dry and dense for my tastes, and the fudge all sank to the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2000
I have been searching for this recipe, my mother made it for my birthday every year... this year she passed on ... and I couldn't find the recipe in her r-box. Is A DEVINE Cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States