Tunnel of Fudge Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Not good. I thought this would be a wonderful recipe with a great fudgy surprise in the center. Boy was I wrong! The cake was extremely dry and also needed a little more flavor as it was very bland. Even the filling couldn't save it! I tried saving it by putting more frosting on it, but it just didn't cover up the dryness. We had quite a few people coming over and I was so glad I tested this before they came. I ended up breaking it up in small pieces then put a filling of pudding mixed with cook whip over it making it into a trote desserdt with chocolate bar shavings on top of it. Not bad for a recovery...but an extremely time consuming lesson.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
My SO made this for my birthday this past month and it was a hit at my party! I will agree with other posters that while the flavor is good and the filling is the best part, the cake part is a bit dry and dense, but that can easily be resolved by putting a slice in the microwave before eating. Adding a scoop of vanilla ice cream on the side does wonders as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BacardiGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manly, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I made this cake for my husband and Step-son's birthday. The cake was very good, but is very rich and VERY chocolaty. I may try it again but substitute vanilla or some other flavor in the middle just to break it up a bit. All in all though, it was a hit and for once, I didn't have a lot leftover. I also frosted it with regular frosting instead of glazing it. I would also probably use vanilla frosting next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Dry, dry, dry. Made this cake for my daughters 18th birthday, she is a chocoholic and picked it out, she usually has chocolate 'dirt' cake but decided to be more mature this year. I had a piece and the bites from the inside of the cake, especially with the walnuts were quite pleasant, but the outer layer was so very dry I couldn't enjoy it. She said the pudding tunnel tasted weird, but was good. Sorry, but I wouldn't make this again. The idea is good, maybe made with a Texas sheet cake recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tappahannock, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
This was so good. Everyone loved it. I added about 1/2 cup more chocolate chips. Reminded me of the bundtcake my mom used to make when we were kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This was a good cake but not as good as I was anticipating. The tunnel of fudge turned out wonderfully! It was the best part of the cake for me. I'm rating this a 4 because my husband and his family thought it was good but I personally would've rated it a 3. Thought the cake part was too dry. I will make this again because the fudge was the best but will be using a box cake mix next time and see how that works out instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M&K's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
The tunnel of pudding is really good and I had no problem getting it to not touch the sides. However the cake itself is on the dry side. Everyone around the table ate it, but only a few said they would eat it again. My sister ate the leftovers by just eating the pudding layer! Oh and I just sprayed the pan with PAM and skipped the flour part and had no problems with it sticking to the pan. If I made this again I think I will try a different recipe to make the cake, but I would definitely keep the pudding part the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This cake is the standard birthday cake in my family now! Absolutely the best, and easy to do. I'd give it more stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATHYADKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
This cake came out dark, rich and moist. The kids got into it when the pudding "tunnel" was still warm and they raved at how good it was. I followed the recipe exactly with spectacular results. The cake itself was much darker than in the photo with a delicious strong dark chocolate taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Waterdown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This cake tasted fine but it didn't turn out as good as I thought it would. I agree with the comment about adding a white chocolate filling, that would have been much tastier. And if you have a solid chocolate cake recipe already, I would use that instead of making this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xx thinkpink xo
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States