Tuna Salad Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
These recipe sounded interesting, so I thought I would try it. Except that I knew from the ingredients list I would have to "tweak" it quite a bit if anyone in my family was even going to consider eating these (definitely not intended to disparage either the recipe or the contributor, just my own family's idiosyncratic eating preferences). So I left out the stuff that we don't like (olives, skim milk, yogurt) and substituted stuff that we do like (celery, some green and red peppers, whole milk, reduced fat sour cream) for them. I also used 2 tbls. of applesauce and 2 melted 2 tbls. butter instead of the vegetable oil for shortening and I tossed some parmesan cheese and paprika into the batter, too. The result: The muffins turned out wonderfully in that they baked up nicely, were attractive in appearance and had a nice texture. Flavor-wise? I thought they were kind of "they are what they are; good, but nothing great". My husband's initial reaction was a quizzical expression and "strange" as a comment. And then he proceeded to eat 3 more muffins. My daughter said: "Wow, these are GOOD! Are we having them for dinner tonight?" And my son actually brought a friend over and told him: "You HAVE to try these things! They're great!" (and his friend agreed) I actually wound up making 2 more batches before dinner. I served these muffins with a tomato based soup and a tossed salad, but make no mistake -- the MUFFINS ruled the meal. (I gave this recipe 5 stars. Even though I tweaked it,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
These muffins are great! I take them to work every day for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
A little salty, but if you like tuna you will like these muffins. I doubled the recipe and got just 12 regular sized muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MissErin
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
These turned out great! I didn't have olives, nor am I much of a fan, so I took Dawn's advice and used celery. I also used sour cream instead of yogurt (out of convenience). I was surprised at how flavorful they were and the texture was surprising as well. I wasn't sure what to expect, but they came out of the muffin pan very nicely and were dense, moist and had a very balanced flavor. Nice meal compliment or lunchbox snack. I'm gonna try them cut in half with a little bit of mayo. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissErin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
GREAT! 2 out of three kids loved it the other wouldn't try it but thats not the recipes fault, anyway yummy I think we have a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEOW218

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summerfield, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Edson, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
it was very good! i made some of the suggestions the reviewers made and i was very satisfied.. and i'm kinda glad it didn't have a very strong fish taste :) it really just tasted like herbed bread ..but the tuna kinda dried out in the fridge so remmeber to flake them completely!! but definatly a keeper though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
This is for Karlee: I added different things to different "muffins" on the second try. I totally agreed with your cheddar cheese idea (thanks ;-)), but also the "needs seasoning" comment. Some experimental ones were REALLY good, the nasty bad idea ones I just won't mention... Your cheddar suggestion made me think about tuna melts, so I thought 'tangy tuna melt'. Added a few drops of liquid smoke & a dash of worcestershire. Another w/the liquid smoke alone. Another w/just steak seasoning "McCormick Spicy Steak", & 1 w/smoke + McCSS. Another w/garlic salt subbed for the regular + couple dashes cayenne. Another with a few drops of sriracha. Another w/bacon pieces(precooked, Hormel). Made a gravy dipping sauce (I'm Southern, biscuits & gravy) w/ the tuna drainage. 1-2T unsalted butter, 1-2T ww flour. Make roux, use tuna "broth" to thin. Used whole wheat flour, splenda (blend,1/2&1/2) sugar, and rf cheddar. The calories are the same, even w/the gravy. All were fantastic and super filling. Healthy except for the butter...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
This is a recipe I will be doing again. Hubby was very complementary. I don't particularly like tinned tuna but found the muffins very palatable. I served them as a main meal with salad. I did change the recipe slightly. Instead of using tuna in water, I used tuna in a savoury onion sauce and that worked well. I also only cooked them for 15 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
To be honest, I didn't have high expectations of these muffins. However, they did turn out pretty well. I used whole wheat flour and had to substitute sour cream instead of yogurt, as that is what I had on hand. I was impressed - and will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
This idea was too fun not to try. I reduced the oil to 1T and subbed sweet relish (my favorite part of tuna salad) for the olives, added a bit of dill and lemon zest and served with a bowl of roasted veggie soup. After a few strange looks from my boyfriend he ate 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States