Tuna Salad Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
These recipe sounded interesting, so I thought I would try it. Except that I knew from the ingredients list I would have to "tweak" it quite a bit if anyone in my family was even going to consider eating these (definitely not intended to disparage either the recipe or the contributor, just my own family's idiosyncratic eating preferences). So I left out the stuff that we don't like (olives, skim milk, yogurt) and substituted stuff that we do like (celery, some green and red peppers, whole milk, reduced fat sour cream) for them. I also used 2 tbls. of applesauce and 2 melted 2 tbls. butter instead of the vegetable oil for shortening and I tossed some parmesan cheese and paprika into the batter, too. The result: The muffins turned out wonderfully in that they baked up nicely, were attractive in appearance and had a nice texture. Flavor-wise? I thought they were kind of "they are what they are; good, but nothing great". My husband's initial reaction was a quizzical expression and "strange" as a comment. And then he proceeded to eat 3 more muffins. My daughter said: "Wow, these are GOOD! Are we having them for dinner tonight?" And my son actually brought a friend over and told him: "You HAVE to try these things! They're great!" (and his friend agreed) I actually wound up making 2 more batches before dinner. I served these muffins with a tomato based soup and a tossed salad, but make no mistake -- the MUFFINS ruled the meal. (I gave this recipe 5 stars. Even though I tweaked it,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I love these! My daughter liked them as well. I substituted whole wheat flour for white and used white onions instead of green. I don't like olives so I added celery instead, so they were not salty at all. These will definatly be a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
A little salty, but if you like tuna you will like these muffins. I doubled the recipe and got just 12 regular sized muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
I love tuna sandwiches, but I couldn't eat these muffins. I don't know if I did something wrong, but the muffins came out soggy, and if I had cooked them longer they would have been overcooked. I really wanted to like these, but they did not taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
I really don't like tuna, but my husband loves it so i decided to try this recipe. He wasn't crazy about the muffins-he ate three of them because he was hungry but said it didnt think much of them. I was scared to even try them but they actually werent as disgusting as I thought. They reminded me of tuna casserole. So all in all, a so-so recipe. The best part of it was that my 1 year old really liked them, so i froze the leftovers for a quick, healthy lunch for her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
This is just for my family, it appears that most people like these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Hopkinsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
These muffins are great! I take them to work every day for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I like the idea of this "muffin" and i usually make most recipes exactly as written, but this one just Screamed for graded cheddar on top (big plus) AND that help make them a little browner while cooking. I didn't put mine in muffin pans, i just scooped them onto a baking tray like scones. I would say the flavor is a little bland and could use a little seasoning...?? not sure what yet....?? any ideas? overall, a good start, but could use a bit of help still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karlee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
To be honest, I didn't have high expectations of these muffins. However, they did turn out pretty well. I used whole wheat flour and had to substitute sour cream instead of yogurt, as that is what I had on hand. I was impressed - and will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
This is a great concept, and a good basic recipe to fiddle with. I did not use olives, instead I used some finely diced green pepper and celery. I also added about 1/4 cup parmesan cheese. I also used whole wheat flour. They came out really good. I can't help but think that there's SOMETHING missing, I just can't put my finger on it. I'll definitely make these again, and play around with the recipe more. EDIT: I have now made these several times, tweaking it in various ways. Here is my favorite variation: Make according to recipe except: Use whole wheat flour, and toss in 1/3 cup of parmesan cheese. For special effect, in the last 10 minutes of baking, sprinkle on some shredded cheddar cheese and paprika! I love these muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States