Tuna Salad Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
it was very good! i made some of the suggestions the reviewers made and i was very satisfied.. and i'm kinda glad it didn't have a very strong fish taste :) it really just tasted like herbed bread ..but the tuna kinda dried out in the fridge so remmeber to flake them completely!! but definatly a keeper though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
GREAT! 2 out of three kids loved it the other wouldn't try it but thats not the recipes fault, anyway yummy I think we have a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEOW218

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summerfield, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Edson, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
These recipe sounded interesting, so I thought I would try it. Except that I knew from the ingredients list I would have to "tweak" it quite a bit if anyone in my family was even going to consider eating these (definitely not intended to disparage either the recipe or the contributor, just my own family's idiosyncratic eating preferences). So I left out the stuff that we don't like (olives, skim milk, yogurt) and substituted stuff that we do like (celery, some green and red peppers, whole milk, reduced fat sour cream) for them. I also used 2 tbls. of applesauce and 2 melted 2 tbls. butter instead of the vegetable oil for shortening and I tossed some parmesan cheese and paprika into the batter, too. The result: The muffins turned out wonderfully in that they baked up nicely, were attractive in appearance and had a nice texture. Flavor-wise? I thought they were kind of "they are what they are; good, but nothing great". My husband's initial reaction was a quizzical expression and "strange" as a comment. And then he proceeded to eat 3 more muffins. My daughter said: "Wow, these are GOOD! Are we having them for dinner tonight?" And my son actually brought a friend over and told him: "You HAVE to try these things! They're great!" (and his friend agreed) I actually wound up making 2 more batches before dinner. I served these muffins with a tomato based soup and a tossed salad, but make no mistake -- the MUFFINS ruled the meal. (I gave this recipe 5 stars. Even though I tweaked it,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MissErin
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
These turned out great! I didn't have olives, nor am I much of a fan, so I took Dawn's advice and used celery. I also used sour cream instead of yogurt (out of convenience). I was surprised at how flavorful they were and the texture was surprising as well. I wasn't sure what to expect, but they came out of the muffin pan very nicely and were dense, moist and had a very balanced flavor. Nice meal compliment or lunchbox snack. I'm gonna try them cut in half with a little bit of mayo. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissErin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
These weren't a hit unfortunately. They turned out very dry, dense and heavy with not a whole lot of flavor. Oh well. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I love these! My daughter liked them as well. I substituted whole wheat flour for white and used white onions instead of green. I don't like olives so I added celery instead, so they were not salty at all. These will definatly be a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
these were pretty good - and I hate canned tuna and olives. My only complaint about them is that they don't brown hardly at all. I'll try making them for a potluck tomorrow and see what the reactions are then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cochrane, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
I really don't like tuna, but my husband loves it so i decided to try this recipe. He wasn't crazy about the muffins-he ate three of them because he was hungry but said it didnt think much of them. I was scared to even try them but they actually werent as disgusting as I thought. They reminded me of tuna casserole. So all in all, a so-so recipe. The best part of it was that my 1 year old really liked them, so i froze the leftovers for a quick, healthy lunch for her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
I love tuna sandwiches, but I couldn't eat these muffins. I don't know if I did something wrong, but the muffins came out soggy, and if I had cooked them longer they would have been overcooked. I really wanted to like these, but they did not taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
This is just for my family, it appears that most people like these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fort Stewart, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States