Tuna Salad Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
This idea was too fun not to try. I reduced the oil to 1T and subbed sweet relish (my favorite part of tuna salad) for the olives, added a bit of dill and lemon zest and served with a bowl of roasted veggie soup. After a few strange looks from my boyfriend he ate 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
This is for Karlee: I added different things to different "muffins" on the second try. I totally agreed with your cheddar cheese idea (thanks ;-)), but also the "needs seasoning" comment. Some experimental ones were REALLY good, the nasty bad idea ones I just won't mention... Your cheddar suggestion made me think about tuna melts, so I thought 'tangy tuna melt'. Added a few drops of liquid smoke & a dash of worcestershire. Another w/the liquid smoke alone. Another w/just steak seasoning "McCormick Spicy Steak", & 1 w/smoke + McCSS. Another w/garlic salt subbed for the regular + couple dashes cayenne. Another with a few drops of sriracha. Another w/bacon pieces(precooked, Hormel). Made a gravy dipping sauce (I'm Southern, biscuits & gravy) w/ the tuna drainage. 1-2T unsalted butter, 1-2T ww flour. Make roux, use tuna "broth" to thin. Used whole wheat flour, splenda (blend,1/2&1/2) sugar, and rf cheddar. The calories are the same, even w/the gravy. All were fantastic and super filling. Healthy except for the butter...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I like the idea of this "muffin" and i usually make most recipes exactly as written, but this one just Screamed for graded cheddar on top (big plus) AND that help make them a little browner while cooking. I didn't put mine in muffin pans, i just scooped them onto a baking tray like scones. I would say the flavor is a little bland and could use a little seasoning...?? not sure what yet....?? any ideas? overall, a good start, but could use a bit of help still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karlee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
If you want 12 you need to use a cupcake pan and not a muffin pan. Muffin pans yield 6. Made as stated except that I use reduce fat sour cream instead of yogurt. They are dense but I like that in a muffin but it does need something extra (maybe more salt or grating cheese). Just keep in mind you need 3 bowls for this recipe. If you don't mind the clean-up then this is a pretty good recipe, although not my favorite on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dumont, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
This is a great concept, and a good basic recipe to fiddle with. I did not use olives, instead I used some finely diced green pepper and celery. I also added about 1/4 cup parmesan cheese. I also used whole wheat flour. They came out really good. I can't help but think that there's SOMETHING missing, I just can't put my finger on it. I'll definitely make these again, and play around with the recipe more. EDIT: I have now made these several times, tweaking it in various ways. Here is my favorite variation: Make according to recipe except: Use whole wheat flour, and toss in 1/3 cup of parmesan cheese. For special effect, in the last 10 minutes of baking, sprinkle on some shredded cheddar cheese and paprika! I love these muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
To be honest, I didn't have high expectations of these muffins. However, they did turn out pretty well. I used whole wheat flour and had to substitute sour cream instead of yogurt, as that is what I had on hand. I was impressed - and will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I've made these three times now, the first time was VERY bland. No flavor. So the second time I added LOTS of onions, green peppers, etc. Still tasted bland. I made them one more time the same way, and thought about putting cream cheese ontop of them, my & my boyfriend absolutely love them that way! If you find them very bland you should try doing that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KayleeKrush

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winter Park, Florida, USA
Living In: Lake Mary, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
looked bad - tasted worse
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Not very tasty. I read the reviews about it being bland and added a bit of pepper, some extra garlic but just didn't dig the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
it was very good! i made some of the suggestions the reviewers made and i was very satisfied.. and i'm kinda glad it didn't have a very strong fish taste :) it really just tasted like herbed bread ..but the tuna kinda dried out in the fridge so remmeber to flake them completely!! but definatly a keeper though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States