Tuna Pita Melts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
I cut this recipe in half and used that amount for just 1 pita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I didn't rate 5 stars because i made mine a bit different... To make it less fattening i did not use mayo, instead once i toasted the pita for the first 5 minutes, pulled it out and spread a layer of Atheno's red pepper hummus over the pita, then topped it with plain tuna, which i diced dill pickles in and placed sliced tomato on the tuna then topped with cheese and put back in the oven for another 5 minutes. ABSOLUTELY delicious! Quick and easy, great for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
These are wonderful! A big hit with our family. I cut up Bread & Butter chips and add those in. Mmmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
great recipe...just one thing...I put the ingredients inside the pita pocket for easier handling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
With my own adjustments, quite good, very easy, and a healthier alternative to many tuna melts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Refreshing and light - a healthier alternative to the creamier "traditional" Tuna Melt. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oronoco, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I haven't eaten tuna in 4 years due to food poisoning from tuna fish. I thought I'd give this a try for my first attempt back to tuna and was glad I did! I followed the recipe, except omitted the salt. I sprinkled the tuna mixture with sea salt. I warmed the pitas on 400 F for 5 minutes as directed, then added the tuna mixture. I put the pitas back into the oven for 5 minutes, but the tuna was still not hot. I recommend 8 minutes in the oven to fully heat through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cryingwolf110583
Home Town: Vassar, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Shazzam are these good!! Followed recipe exactly, 'cept added a little diced celery and red onion, black pepper and minced garlic to the tuna. Did 1/2 the pitas w/ cheddar, & other 1/2 w/ jarlsberg, the latter gobbled up more quickly. My 3-year old blurted out, between big bites, that these were "tasty fish pizzas!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Very good and enough for two lunches actually even when you cut the recipe in half! I used "Barbie's Tuna Salad" from this site instead of the tuna salad with the recipe because one Tbsp. of mayo for a whole 6 ounce can of tuna just doesn't cut for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Simple and amazing. I made some modifications and it came out great. I was low on pita so i opened them open and doubled the quantity. also added pepper and and dijon mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gavin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simple Tuna Melts

See how to make a lighter tuna melt with a pickled pepper kick.

Tasty Tuna Burgers

See how to make truly tasty tuna burgers.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States