Tuna Pita Melts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
Just a couple of changes to a tuna melt, but its nice when someone writes it down. We use some "Finlandia Rye" pitas, there about 4" to 5" across, but the extra flavour and nutrition is great. Like many others, I now omit the salt, or I use a pinch of sea salt. My favourite change is to replace the tomato with red/yellow/orange bell pepper. Just cut the pepper into 1/2" strips, put about 4 on a pita, between the cheese and tuna. Bell peppers have three times the vitamin c of an orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOOMOT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2002
On a whim I tried this for a family visit today. Not only were there no left overs, but my 2 year old daughter loved it! A nice variation is to add two hardboiled eggs chopped. Very delicious recipe! The best part was how quick it is prepared...I was able to spend more time visiting than cooking. A+ in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Very good and enough for two lunches actually even when you cut the recipe in half! I used "Barbie's Tuna Salad" from this site instead of the tuna salad with the recipe because one Tbsp. of mayo for a whole 6 ounce can of tuna just doesn't cut for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
I've made something like this for a long time. Make the tuna the way you like it, then add some sunflower seeds and raisins (YES its GOOD!!), use the pita or very sourdough bread and then top with very sharp cheddar cheese....melt as directed! AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Chino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
I LOVE tuna, so this made a great lunch! I never thought of using pita bread and it was a really nice change. Unless you're a saltaholic, leave it out as the tuna has plenty by itself. I'm not crazy about relish in my tuna, so I omitted it but added some chopped red onion along with garlic and onion powders and black pepper. Thanks Glori!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
I haven't made these for dinner but am trying to find new things for hubby to take to work since he works 12hrs and is on nights. He loved these. I mixed the tuna mixture and put it in a bowl in his lunch box with freezer squares to keep cold. I sent his cheese and pitas in seperate ziplock bags and he assembled at work then microwaved. He loved them. Put his diced tomatos on top after everthing was heated up. Thanks for the great post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
This recipe was so tasty and a snap to make. I didn't have any dill pickle relish, just sweet relish, and thought it still tasted quite good. Don't bother putting in the 1/4 tsp. salt, there is so much in the tuna and cheddar cheese already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
Very good and very healthy. I will definitely make this again. I didn't leave the pita's in the oven after adding all the ingredients. I think you need to leave them in for about 8 minutes to get the tuna inside hot and the cheese to melt all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Clara, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
This recipe is very yummy! When you're in the mood for something a little different than just plain old tuna. I didn't have cheddar on hand so I used shredded velveeta and it was really great!!! Thanks for posting this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walpole, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stephens City, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Love tuna melts! This one is very good, less fat than a traditional tuna melt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Simple Tuna Melts

See how to make a lighter tuna melt with a pickled pepper kick.

Tasty Tuna Burgers

See how to make truly tasty tuna burgers.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States