Tuna Pita Melts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2002
On a whim I tried this for a family visit today. Not only were there no left overs, but my 2 year old daughter loved it! A nice variation is to add two hardboiled eggs chopped. Very delicious recipe! The best part was how quick it is prepared...I was able to spend more time visiting than cooking. A+ in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2002
Great recipe! I added red onion (cut in small pieces). Great flavor and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
Pretty good, although not kid-friendly in our house. The mixture turned out a bit dry and chewy - I might try plain pitas next time instead of whole wheat, and add a bit more mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
These were GREAT! I’ve never added salt to anything, let alone Tuna fish, but it made it much better. I will add more mayo next time b/c it seemed a LITTLE dry to me. It was really, really good. It would make a great lunch. We discovered that my fiancé doesn’t like pita bread, so I might try it on normal bread, but other than that, I love it and will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
great quick dinner idea...my kids made them all by themselves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
Very good and very healthy. I will definitely make this again. I didn't leave the pita's in the oven after adding all the ingredients. I think you need to leave them in for about 8 minutes to get the tuna inside hot and the cheese to melt all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Clara, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
VERY good! My husband used to make this but on a Hmaburger bun, using pita bread is SO much better! This was quick, easy and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
Yum! What a delicious, fast meal. I added some chopped red onion and omitted the pickle relish (because I didn't have any) and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
I LOVE tuna, so this made a great lunch! I never thought of using pita bread and it was a really nice change. Unless you're a saltaholic, leave it out as the tuna has plenty by itself. I'm not crazy about relish in my tuna, so I omitted it but added some chopped red onion along with garlic and onion powders and black pepper. Thanks Glori!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
This is a heckuva good sammy! I wanted something fast before running off to softball tonight, and found this! I didn't have pita's, so I actually used regular bread and just buttered the outsides of the sandwich - cooking for about 5 minutes per side. Very quick and yummy for those on the run kind of nights! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Tuna Melts

See how to make a lighter tuna melt with a pickled pepper kick.

Tasty Tuna Burgers

See how to make truly tasty tuna burgers.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States