Tuna Pita Melts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
I cut this recipe in half and used that amount for just 1 pita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I didn't rate 5 stars because i made mine a bit different... To make it less fattening i did not use mayo, instead once i toasted the pita for the first 5 minutes, pulled it out and spread a layer of Atheno's red pepper hummus over the pita, then topped it with plain tuna, which i diced dill pickles in and placed sliced tomato on the tuna then topped with cheese and put back in the oven for another 5 minutes. ABSOLUTELY delicious! Quick and easy, great for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
These are wonderful! A big hit with our family. I cut up Bread & Butter chips and add those in. Mmmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
great recipe...just one thing...I put the ingredients inside the pita pocket for easier handling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
With my own adjustments, quite good, very easy, and a healthier alternative to many tuna melts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Refreshing and light - a healthier alternative to the creamier "traditional" Tuna Melt. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Thein

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oronoco, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I haven't eaten tuna in 4 years due to food poisoning from tuna fish. I thought I'd give this a try for my first attempt back to tuna and was glad I did! I followed the recipe, except omitted the salt. I sprinkled the tuna mixture with sea salt. I warmed the pitas on 400 F for 5 minutes as directed, then added the tuna mixture. I put the pitas back into the oven for 5 minutes, but the tuna was still not hot. I recommend 8 minutes in the oven to fully heat through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cryingwolf110583
Home Town: Vassar, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Shazzam are these good!! Followed recipe exactly, 'cept added a little diced celery and red onion, black pepper and minced garlic to the tuna. Did 1/2 the pitas w/ cheddar, & other 1/2 w/ jarlsberg, the latter gobbled up more quickly. My 3-year old blurted out, between big bites, that these were "tasty fish pizzas!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Very good and enough for two lunches actually even when you cut the recipe in half! I used "Barbie's Tuna Salad" from this site instead of the tuna salad with the recipe because one Tbsp. of mayo for a whole 6 ounce can of tuna just doesn't cut for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Simple and amazing. I made some modifications and it came out great. I was low on pita so i opened them open and doubled the quantity. also added pepper and and dijon mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gavin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Tuna Melts

See how to make a lighter tuna melt with a pickled pepper kick.

Tasty Tuna Burgers

See how to make truly tasty tuna burgers.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States