Tuna Piccata Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
This was very good, with the following modifications: I used oil packed tuna, because it has more flavor, and reduced the olive oil. I also added some chopped kalamata olives instead of salt, and threw in some green beans and about a tbsp of oil-packed sun-dried tomatoes. I served it at room temperature, but it would also be delicious chilled or hot. This recipe is really a great starting point for many variations. One thing to note, though is that angel hair pasta should not be cooked as long as the recipe directs. Check the label on your box--it's 3 minutes for dry at most and about a minute for fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I love this recipe! The capers are a delicious twist. I doubled everything except the oil to cut back the fat and calories, and didn't miss it a bit. I also added chopped celery and red onion. (I can't wait to try this with smoked salmon in place of the tuna!) I will definitely be making this tuna salad on a regular basis. Edit: Tried this with smoked salmon and lots of red onion....Fantastic!! If you can splurge on the salmon, I highly recommend trying this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
This recipe will likely become a quick/cheap staple for my house. As many do, there are a few mods: Used elbow macaroni and when it was done cooking and drained, I added a bag of frozen peas. I let that sit while I put together the sauce and then mixed it up. It makes a great standard tuna salad recipe alternative -- not too much mayonnaise and no dang hard-boiled eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
It was great. I decided to add hard boiled eggs and celery and it gave it a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I had a little bit of wheat pasta and some tuna and wanted to make a light lunch. This was fantastic! I didn't have the capers, but will add next time. I also added onion so I could have some crunch. Love this and will make it again and again - good hot or cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This is really good--and I'm a picky pasta salad person. I do, however, LOVE capers so I had to try this when I saw it. I didn't have angel hair so I used spaghetti. I think, however, that I'd prefer using rotini or penne--spaghetti and angel hair are just too hard for me to mix! I also added more capers--2 teaspons is just not enough for me, but then again I really like them. Otherwise, I think this is great. it's very quick and easy too, and as other's have said, very light and fresh. A perfect pasta salad for my tastes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Yum! I added corn, hard boiled egg, and onions instead of capers and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
My family really enjoys this recipe! I make it without the mayonnaise because of my kids' egg allergies and it's great! I prefer it with egg noodles if I'm only making it for me & my hubby, but usually make it with various kinds of non-egg wheat pasta so the whole family can eat it. I typically double the recipe and use a pound of pasta, and then I'll use one can of tuna packed in oil and one can of white albacore. I leave the ratios of everything as stated in the recipe, but do add extra capers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
My mayo was past its prime so I ended up with a non creamy sauce over water packed tuna and whole wheat pasta. I cut the olive oil back to 4 tbsp and used 12 oz of tuna...doubled the capers...a decent subsitute, and worth making again the right way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This was pretty good. We don't like capers so I substituted green olives, and I cut the oil in half, because we don't like oily pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Simple Pasta Salad

A quick and easy salad with rotini pasta and vegetables.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States