Tuna Piccata Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
This was very good, with the following modifications: I used oil packed tuna, because it has more flavor, and reduced the olive oil. I also added some chopped kalamata olives instead of salt, and threw in some green beans and about a tbsp of oil-packed sun-dried tomatoes. I served it at room temperature, but it would also be delicious chilled or hot. This recipe is really a great starting point for many variations. One thing to note, though is that angel hair pasta should not be cooked as long as the recipe directs. Check the label on your box--it's 3 minutes for dry at most and about a minute for fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
I loved this meal. It was so tasty and the tuna was moist and very delicious.It was so wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
This recipe will likely become a quick/cheap staple for my house. As many do, there are a few mods: Used elbow macaroni and when it was done cooking and drained, I added a bag of frozen peas. I let that sit while I put together the sauce and then mixed it up. It makes a great standard tuna salad recipe alternative -- not too much mayonnaise and no dang hard-boiled eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
It was great. I decided to add hard boiled eggs and celery and it gave it a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
My mayo was past its prime so I ended up with a non creamy sauce over water packed tuna and whole wheat pasta. I cut the olive oil back to 4 tbsp and used 12 oz of tuna...doubled the capers...a decent subsitute, and worth making again the right way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Definitely a keeper! I use tri-color rotini for the pasta and reduce the oil a bit just to try to cut back on calories. I love it topped with some slivered almonds - yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
I tried this because I had most of the ingredients. I wasn't sure what to expect, whether I would like it or not, but I did like it after all. Since I didn't have Dijon mustard, I used regular mustard and added some honey to sweeten it. It all tasted pretty good after all. My family said they liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vernal, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I love this recipe! The capers are a delicious twist. I doubled everything except the oil to cut back the fat and calories, and didn't miss it a bit. I also added chopped celery and red onion. (I can't wait to try this with smoked salmon in place of the tuna!) I will definitely be making this tuna salad on a regular basis. Edit: Tried this with smoked salmon and lots of red onion....Fantastic!! If you can splurge on the salmon, I highly recommend trying this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Wonderful as a sandwich filling (without the pasta) and works with canned salmon as well. I sometimes substitute half the mayo for low fat sour cream to save on calories and it still tastes great. This recipe is a staple for me now. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
My family really enjoys this recipe! I make it without the mayonnaise because of my kids' egg allergies and it's great! I prefer it with egg noodles if I'm only making it for me & my hubby, but usually make it with various kinds of non-egg wheat pasta so the whole family can eat it. I typically double the recipe and use a pound of pasta, and then I'll use one can of tuna packed in oil and one can of white albacore. I leave the ratios of everything as stated in the recipe, but do add extra capers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Greek Pasta Salad I

This salad is bursting with bright colors and fresh, authentic flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States