Tuna Pasta Salad with Dill Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This is a light & tasty recipe that would be perfect for a shower or lunches. (It keeps well in the 'fridge for several days.) BUT to make it serve-worthy, I suggest the following additions: 1-2 hard boiled eggs, 1/2 c finely diced celery, 2 tablespoons sweet relish, 1 c thawed peas, & a couple shakes of celery salt. Also, use a bit less dill than suggest. (I used 1 1/2 teaspoons.) Do not leave out the pickle juice and use a good, homemade kosher dill brand for best results. I used a little more than suggested (3-4 tablespoons). Finally, do not eat it right away: Let the flavors marry for at least 2 hours (simply follow directions). Whew...That seems like a lot, but it's really not too complicated. My husband, co-workers, & I all enjoyed it. It's simple, keeps for a long time, healthy (if you use light mayo & skim milk, which I did), & cost-effective.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crandall, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
I think this is closer to traditional tuna pasta salad. I would add sweet relish instead of pickle juice,this adds flavor and some texture. I agree to cut the portion of dill so it's not so overwhelming.The boiled egg is also a very good addition. I would finally chop so you don't have big hunks of egg in each bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Quick and easy. I used less mayo and switched it to light mayo. I also used fresh dill, and substituted red onion for the yellow onion and added a little salt and pepper. Can be easily "tweaked" to your liking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
This is how my husband likes macaroni salad (though I prefer it without tuna). I usually add 3 or so chopped hard boiled eggs to the mixture as well. Some chopped celery is a good addition too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This was a tasty salad dressing for macaroni salad and this tuna pasta salad. I did not give this particular recipe 5 stars because I felt it needed color. The addition of diced peppers (red, yellow, and orange) would have added slightly to the flavor, but would have added immensly to the appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Diamond Bar, California, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
Good flavor. Refrigerate at least 4 hrs. (probably overnight would be better). I used red onion. For appearance and texture, it could use extras like celery, finely diced green pepper, and/or frozen peas (thawed).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
This was GREAT! Cut the dill to 1.5t, so it wouldn't be overly DILLY. Otherwise, added some green onion and a can of peas. Yum! Next time will try with some hard cooked eggs, as another reviewer suggested. I think that would be very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Mmmm Brains' Pasta! Made this for a "Zombie Luau" party and molded the pasta salad to look like, well, brains. 5-star recipe, more stars with a couple additions: 2 ribs chopped celery, dash of curry powder, splash of Vinagrette salad dressing, and 1/2 diced bell pepper. (I like a little more color and crunch in pasta salad.) Don't forget the pickle juice - what a great way to use that pickle-ey liquid left in the jar! Oh yea, and if you want brain-ey pasta like mine, a couple drops of red food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I used half plain yogurt and half mayo and followed others' suggestion of adding boiled eggs. It was very good, although a tad bland. Next time, I will probably add more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
One of my Fav. Recipes in the summer..I would suggest Albacore Chunk Tuna for recipes..GIESHA Brand seems very good..and the A&P Brand is very nice..I sometimes add one can of Cooked(in butter)Corn..but yes a excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doePastaB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Antipasto Pasta Salad

This salad combines meat, cheese, veggies, and pasta into a picnic delight.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States