Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
The flavor seems to come primarily from fat and salt. To make this more healthy and more flavorful, try the following: 1. spray the dish with non-stick spray rather than using butter 2. reduce the butter for sauteeing to 2 teaspoons 3. replace the milk with 1 cup of reduced sodium, fat-free chicken broth and 1 cup of low-fat evaporated milk 4. add 1/2 teaspoon (or more) of crushed marjoram or thyme leaves 5. add 1/8 teaspoon of ground red pepper to the roux and reduce the butter in the roux (you can cut in half and still successfully blend in the flour). Also, add 1/8 to 1/4 teaspoon of freshly ground nutmeg to the roux. This is standard for a white sauce. 6. Use light cheese for the topping, preferably highly flavored such as asiago or extra sharp cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1518 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
5 stars with these adjustments: Spray baking dish with cooking spray instead of butter. Double recipe for 9 x 13 pan. Added 1tsp each:thyme nutmeg and crushed red pepper. Doubled garlic. Minced mushrooms (So the kids wouldn't know!!) Put a splash of white wine in with the veggies as the sauteed. Omitted peas (don't like them). Added 1/4 cup of parmesan ,1/4 package of cream cheese and half the cheddar cheese to the sauce.Added 1/2cup of quartered cherry tomatoes. Topped with remaining cheese then topped with corn flakes instead of bread crumb mixture. IT WAS TO DIE FOR!!!!!We loved it from ages3 to 31!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
786 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KPZ111

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
YUM!!! Very Impressed. I am very bored with searching for recipes only to find bulk ingredient is canned soup. I enjoy cooking from scratch, and this is perfect. If you are used to canned soup tuna casserole, and you try this recipe, you will NEVER go back. I changed very few things and just finished this for dinner. I didn't add mushrooms (not a fan), and added just a sprinkle of celery seed. I also used a little more cheese, more like a 1 1/4 cup of cheese. I added half of the cheese to the "cream" and melted it like you would do with macaroni and cheese. Then added the other half to the top like the recipe called for. I read other reviews mention the use of crackers instead of bread crumbs, and I did that as well. This recipe is going into the keep pile, THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
475 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
I think that with two changes this is a five star recipe. Add a chicken boullion cube to your cream sauce, which adds a LOT of flavor, and top with french fried onions instead of the bread crumbs. I will NEVER go back to casserole out of a can--this is absolutely delicious and the leftovers are even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
251 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruby's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Søborg, Hovedstaden, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
We think this dish has a lot of potential, and I'm sure I'll make it again. As is, however, it's just sort of...blah. I kept adding salt in an effort to stir up the flavors, but it just didn't happen. Before attempting this again, I'll figure out what seasonings will work to make it more flavorful. My husband did comment that it doesn't have the typical soup taste to it, which is a great thing! 4-11-06: I made this again tonight, and it was a lot better! I added some fresh dill, as dill is really good paired with just about any fish. I also tripled the amounts of garlic and black pepper that went into it; it was very flavorful this time around. I've added this to my recipe book with my additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
It's a keeper! I did make some shortcuts: after I finished the mushrooms, I added the butter then the flour right to the mushroom mix. I cooked that for about 3-5 minutes and then added the milk. After the noodles cooked for 4 minutes, I added the frozen peas to the pot and cooked the peas and noodles together for another 4 minutes. After draining both, I put the tuna in the noodle pot, poured the noodles and peas on top, added the cheese and stirred. Then I added the mushroom mix, stirred and put it all in a casserole dish. I omitted the salt from the recipe and topped the casserole with crushed potato chips as I didn't have bread crumbs. I love recipes that don't include a "cream of something" can of soup! (I used leftover haddock from the fridge and it was great; I suppose you could use any fish!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
This is really great and SUPER easy. I only changed one thing, and that was substituting 2 cans of chicken in place of the tuna..(for some reason people here think they don't like hot tuna!;)) I think I'd also make a bit more of the gravy mixture next time because I'd have liked it a little creamier, but considering I didn't really put exactly 8oz of noodles in, (dumped more on accident)it is probably the reason it wasn't as creamy. Anyway, excellent recipe. Thanks for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Isle, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Why is that casserole recipes never call for enough sauce? When I mixed everything together, prior to baking, it looked quite nice and juicy. I should have stopped there and eaten the dish as pasta with tuna sauce. The baking dried it out completely. I would also suggest using more tuna as to me it tasted more like a 'peas in white sauce with pasta casserole'. I am also always suspicious when recipes call for a flour-thickened sauce to put over pasta. They ususally turn out too 'bready'. I think it would be nicer to use thick cream instead of milk here, and omit the flour. Also, more spices and herbs would be nice, I think. Garlic, parsley and lemon would make it more interesting. The way it's written it's a bit bland and definitely dry and I am not looking forward to finishing the leftovers tomorrow night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
Awesome recipe! Tastes sooo much better than the canned cream of whatever tuna casserole recipes I've had to eat before (Sorry Mom). Definitely worth the extra effort to make from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
I made this a couple days ago as I'm trying to get more fish in our diets. I followed the recipe almost exactly, although I substituted some garlic powder for the clove of garlic and I used two 4-oz cans of sliced mushrooms as I forgot to buy some fresh ones. I also used some crushed crackers instead of breadcrumbs, and I probably used more like two cups of cheese on top. Oh, very tasty! I cooked it up in an 8" square glass baking dish, and it was almost overfull! I think it could use something else, too. It wasn't bland so much as just lacking... something. But it is much better than the soup-from-a-can casseroles that I have been making, although I won't make this all the time simply because it takes longer to make. I will definitely make it again. Thanks for sharing this recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 907) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Country Tuna Noodle Casserole

This prize-winning tuna casserole is a one-pot wonder!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States