Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Dorothy Lamb
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I made this recipe the day after Thanksgiving - using turkey instead of tuna of course. Really easy and very tasty. I used one cup of heavy cream and a cup and a half of milk with plenty of butter (I wanted it creamy and rich). I used some poultry seasoning with the butter, garlic, onions, mushrooms, celery, and peas. I also put a bit of cheddar cheese in the bechamel sauce and instead, used buttered Panko crumbs on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy Lamb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newbury Park, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This wasn't as much work as I thought it was going to be. I didn't think it was too dry as some people mentioned, but I agree it needed a few spices at the table. I added celery salt and dill, plus a few red pepper flakes. On its own, it's still pretty tasty though. You can definitely tell the difference without the canned ingredients, even if it doesn't knock your socks off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
This is an excellent recipe. I made a few changes: (1) half-and-half instead of milk; (2) shredded cheddar and Monterey Jack (that's what I had on hand); (3) added 1/4 tsp. of nutmeg and 1 tsp. of lemon juice to the sauce. It turned out really well. I thought it could have used a bit more sauce, but my husband was happy with it as is. It reheats well, too. Will definitely be adding this one to my rotation! Oh - one last thing. I used one saute pan for the veggies and the bechamel sauce because I'm lazy. Worked out fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
little bland- even used other suggestions- added extra garlic, thyme, red pepper, nutmeg, parm cheese, cr cheese. still very good though- just S&P needed- kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Real comfort food. Used Panko crumbs without sauteing in butter, then cheese right over the crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I pretty much followed the recipe adding a few suggested spices. I made this for my neighbor who had just gotten out of the hospital and LOVES Tuna/Noodle Casserole!! I had never made one before and decided on this one because of the reviews. He loved it and so did his wife who really doesn't care for tuna. As for me - I don't care for tuna either - so if I ever make it again I'll probably just replace the tuna with chicken. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Delicious comfort food. I added carrots to the sautéed veggies and left out the mushrooms. Was a huge hit with the fam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Great flavor !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
My family really enjoyed. We are not big on a lot of spices, but garlic and onion. I switched the bread crumbs for the French Fried Onions on top. This is a great comfort food and great to take leftovers to work the next day for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 949) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Country Tuna Noodle Casserole

This prize-winning tuna casserole is a one-pot wonder!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States