Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
A friend who went fishing and caught a huge tuna, it became part of this delicious dish. I used 1 cup of milk and 1 cup of broth. This is the best tuna noodle casserole I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I tried this recipe last night, I did not care for the taste at all. Tasted bland in the pan, added more salt and garlic salt, still overall this was not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
My daughter who cannot stand tuna fish, but needs the protein, had TWO huge helpings of this. I doubled the recipe, but only used two cans of tuna. I did not put butter in the breadcrumbs either, and it tasted AMAZING!!!!! I cannot wait to make this recipe again!!!!!! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
average
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Strathmore, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
This is really good. I use frozen baby limas instead of peas, because we prefer them, but otherwise follow this recipe pretty closely, which is unusual for me! It's a favorite, and really quite easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellonwheels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowdon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
My husband says I can make this for him whenever I want. I doubled the onion, celery, and garlic. Used baby portabellas instead of button mushrooms and Colby cheese instead of cheddar. My neighbor doesn't like tuna casserole and she raves about this. Absolutely the best tuna casserole ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
This was a solid recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOULEC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
My family loves tuna casserole and I never use canned soup - so the fresh mushroom rue is familiar to me. I thought I'd try a different recipe just for a slightly new taste. This recipe had a nice flavor (although it needed more breadcrumb and cheese for my family's tastebuds). However time wise, it was not worth the amount of effort. I doubled the recipe as I usually do with casseroles and freeze one for another dinner. My kitchen sink was filled with dishes and the net result was not in line with the amount of prep time - which was long. I know doubling a recipe increases prep time but this one just seemed to take too long - even factoring in the doubling. I hate to thumbs down a recipe but maybe I did something wrong with my timing. Again, the taste was good- but won't make this again due to the time factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This didn't have a whole lot of flavor. I really like the idea of making the roux from scratch instead of using canned soup, but as written, I found it to be really lacking in flavor... I initially followed the recipe as is, my pasta was whole wheat, and the flour I used was half white flour and half wheat flour. I also don't drink milk milk so created the appropriate amount of powdered non-fat milk and when made, it was really bland. I honestly don't think those substitutions accounted for the COMPLETE lack of flavor though... I had to keep adding and tasting and adding and tasting. I added about 4 more cloves of minced garlic, grated asiago cheese, salt, pepper, cayenne, nutmeg, lemon juice, heavy whipping cream....premade whipped garlic sauce...I had to just keep adding and adding. I'd like to say that I am pretty health conscious, eating mostly veggies and grains, so it's not like I was only going to be satisfied with a super salty, fatty and extremely rich dish. I can appreciate subtlety, I just don't think there is any flavor as written... After all of the additions, I added homemade bread crumbs and grated parmesan on top. Not sure if I'd go through all of the work again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dorothy Lamb
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I made this recipe the day after Thanksgiving - using turkey instead of tuna of course. Really easy and very tasty. I used one cup of heavy cream and a cup and a half of milk with plenty of butter (I wanted it creamy and rich). I used some poultry seasoning with the butter, garlic, onions, mushrooms, celery, and peas. I also put a bit of cheddar cheese in the bechamel sauce and instead, used buttered Panko crumbs on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy Lamb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newbury Park, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 948) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Country Tuna Noodle Casserole

This prize-winning tuna casserole is a one-pot wonder!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States