Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Hubby loved it and says it is a "5"! It is very forgiving, since I did not have all the ingredients, and had to convert it to gluten free. I used gluten free penne noodles, omitted the celery (didn't have any) and used loosely chopped mushrooms. For the roux, I used 1/4 cup potato flour and 2% milk and butter. For the topping I used crushed GF cheese crackers, omitting the butter and cheese. Everything else was added as written. It went into the frig, until I pulled it out 48 hours later... I poured 1/2 cup 2% milk around the edges/middle of the casserole as it had dried out in the frig over the last two days. It baked perfectly in 45 minutes to the cheer of the family gathered at the table. Thank you for sharing this recipe! I look forward to adding it to my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Really loved this! Was nice not to put canned soup in it ! It's a keeper. Def comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This was a good dish, but I added to it which is why I am giving it 3 stars. I used broccoli instead of peas and added, nutmeg and crushed red pepper. I did not butter the dish, I used cooking spray to cut calories. I also only used 1/4 cup of butter to make the sauce and it turned out great and cut the butter calories and fat in half. I also used skim milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
too dry, ill try it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I loved the idea of making this dish from scratch. It turned out amazing! I'm rating it a 4, however, mainly because I changed a few things because I thought the regular recipe looked a bit...bland. I mainly just added some dill, nutmeg, one chicken bullion cube, and crushed chili pepper flakes to the sauce. I also used butter-flavored crackers instead of bread crumbs to give it a little more flavor and bite. It turned out great. Next time I'll have to use a bit more cheese. I just eyeballed it, and it turned out a bit crunch as opposed to cheesy. I might add some cheese to the sauce as well. Thank you for this recipe! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shy422

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Clive, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Super yummy! I had spiral noodles on hand so I used them and used 16 oz. I used EVOO to sauté the veggies and subbed it for half the butter in the rue, as we'll. I added the butter and flour mixture in the mushroom mixture (less dishes and same result).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AgnusDei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This was great as written, but the second time I made it I had to make a few changes. I wanted fewer pans and less prep. So I sprayed the baking dish with nonstick spray. Then I grabbed my dutch oven and sauted the onions etc. in 2 tsp. butter. I used a jar of sliced mushrooms and diced them up in an attempt to fool the kids and only cooked them long enough to heat through since they're already soft. I just added the roux butter to the onion mixture in the same pot and used 1 cup chicken broth in lieu of one of the cups of milk. Voila! One less pan, a little less fat. I forgot to buy fresh celery so used 1/4 tsp. celery seed, 1/2 tsp. marjoram, 1/8 tsp. cayenne pepper and 1/8 tsp. nutmeg. I also didn't remember to thaw the peas in advance, so I dumped them into the colander along with 12 oz. of cooked noodles because I would never use the remaining 4 oz in the bag. I had some buttermilk (just under 1/4 cup) from a previous recipe and added this plus an extra dallop of regular milk since the first time I made this it was a little dry, but 1/4-1/2 cup of any milk/cream would go a long way. I also added sharp cheddar into the mix because I don't like "cheese crusts" on top. Finally, I wanted a little extra crunch on top so I just smashed up a sandwich baggie of plain kettle chips and added these on top, covering with foil for all but the last 5 mins. I honestly thought my lazier method wouldn't produce nearly as good of results as the original, but we actually liked it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niki-b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Very delicious! I adjusted it a little but this is great because it doesn't have canned soup in it and it super easy to make and change up any way you want. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 853) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Country Tuna Noodle Casserole

This prize-winning tuna casserole is a one-pot wonder!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States