Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Love this! No canned soup (which I abhor, e.g. hate) and totally homemade. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I was so surprised at how delicious this recipe is! I don't care for canned tuna so I substituted with canned chicken. I've tried MANY tuna casserole recipes and this wins hands down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I used this recipe along with the suggestions offered in the reviews: 2 med onions; 4-5 cloves of garlic; 2 stalks of celery; 16oz mushrooms; 3/4 can of low-sodium chicken broth + 2 tsp "Better Than Bullion" (for thinning and flavor to the end mix) For the herbs/spices, I chose dill, marjoram, dried parsley, nutmeg, and dry mustard which I added to the roux. I doubled the cheese and added half to the roux and half in the full mixture itself. I topped with garlic breadcrumbs mixed with parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
The peas weren't cooked, the taste was bland, the texture very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I think it's a good base. But it was a little bland. The second time I added, fresh dill, sage and lemon juice. I also did olive oil instead of butter. I added carrots, onion, chopped green beans. This recipe is a great alternative to creams and soups. My family loved it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Pretty good - I doubled all the aromatic vegetables, added nutmeg to the sauce, and some fresh parsley at the end (should have been dill, but I was out of dill). It was pretty good, but not having grown up with tuna noodle casserole, I suspect I am just not feeling the comfort of this dish due to lack of familiarity. I would repeat, but maybe once a year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I have made my tuna noodle casserole this way for years, except I only use Albacore tuna, and add 1/4 white wine (any kind!) when making the roux. Simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Bravo!!!! This was AMAZING. I have never tried a tuna casserole before. I remember the late eighties, early nineties when tuna casserole was a poor man's meal and dinner preparers would throw all the ingredients I a casserole dish, bake and the results were not appetizing at all. Honestly neither was this my DD, and DH was ready to count it out, until they tasted it, it was so good, everyone had more. I used can salmon because I didn't have tuna, I think the results would be the same. Everything else I left the same. Give this version a try, you won't be disappointed. That's for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geminimistress

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Guess next time I'll read reviews first! I too think the onions were a bit to much! And I also add an extra can of soup mixed with same amount of 2% milk so it was not so dry and then added pepper to liven it up!! Other then the a bit to much onion and a bit to dry ( fixed with the shop and milk fix) it was pretty darn good with a loaf of fresh backed french bread !!! O man so hardy and very rib sticking :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan Person

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Best casserole! I refuse to use nasty canned soups, but was craving this childhood favorite. This recipe fit the bill perfectly! I followed exactly except added a few spices from the pantry, just a few dashes. It was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Dolon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 959) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Country Tuna Noodle Casserole

This prize-winning tuna casserole is a one-pot wonder!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States