Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Guess next time I'll read reviews first! I too think the onions were a bit to much! And I also add an extra can of soup mixed with same amount of 2% milk so it was not so dry and then added pepper to liven it up!! Other then the a bit to much onion and a bit to dry ( fixed with the shop and milk fix) it was pretty darn good with a loaf of fresh backed french bread !!! O man so hardy and very rib sticking :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan Person

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Best casserole! I refuse to use nasty canned soups, but was craving this childhood favorite. This recipe fit the bill perfectly! I followed exactly except added a few spices from the pantry, just a few dashes. It was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Dolon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Kids, husband and I all loved it. I didn't love how time intensive it was and how many pots/pans I had to use; HOWEVER, I did love that it was less processed and more wholesome than the cream of whatever soup variety. So I guess that makes it worth the extra work. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILKBROWN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Texas, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
I'm going to give this four stars because I think the problems others have been having stem from an error in the ingredient list rather than a problem with the recipe itself. The standard formula for white sauces/bechamel using flour, fat, and milk is for 1 tbsp of fat and 1 tbsp of flour will thicken one cup of liquid. So if you have four tbsp of butter and 1/4 cup (also four tablespoons) of flour, then you have to put FOUR cups of milk in, or it will be way too dry and tight. I made it that way, and allowing for variations in seasonings, it worked great for us. Try it again with this change, maybe you'll like it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
This is very good with the changes made in the first review under "most helpful" although, I didn't use the evaporated milk or crushed red peppers. From the original recipe: I did not use celery as it makes me want to gag. I didn't have any frozen peas, either. And, I used crushed kettle cooked potato chips in place of the bread crumbs. The crunch is awesome and the chips add a little salty goodness. With all that said, I hate it when people review recipes and don't follow it exactly. Although, I did give it 4 stars so I forgive myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
really good! definitely do the cheese on top of the breadcrumbs and mixing the crumbs with butter was a genius idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Kirkpatrick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
A great basic mid-week meal... nice that it is from scratch. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary h.
Home Town: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Skipped the mushrooms because my husband doesn't like them and used French fried onions for the topping. Followed the rest of the recipe as written and it tasted great! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Great base recipe. Like others I did add somthings. Used peas and carrots, added sautéed onions and mushrooms and used one can of cream of celery soup. Also added used cheddar instead of American just due to personal taste. My wife is not a big tuna casserole fan and loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I love that this recipe is a from scratch version instead of using canned soup. I have made this twice & modified it slightly both times. I sauteed a red pepper with my onion & garlic. I also used the pea/carrot mixture instead of just peas. To the roux I also add a few splashes of hot sauce and 1 tsp. of thyme. I also put the cheese under the breadcrumbs so that they stay crunchy. I used panko breadcrumbs. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 941) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Country Tuna Noodle Casserole

This prize-winning tuna casserole is a one-pot wonder!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States