Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by KatieBug
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Making the cream of mushroom is the best part. I used saltines as the bread crumbs. I also put a 1/8 cup sour cream, 1/8 tsp thyme, 1/8 tsp paprika, and 1/8 tsp celery seed in it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Yeah, it's tuna noodle casserole. so five stars? For what it is supposed to be, it's great. True, it took almost every pan in my kitchen, I might stir a little veggie bouillon in the bechamel next time, and I omitted the mushrooms. But other than that... a real winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe with NO canned soups. Made it for the second time tonight and we are just loving it. To suit our tastes, I made the original sauce plus 1/2 more and it was divine. Hubby asked that next time I add an additional small can tuna and we both think perhaps a cup of corn and some extra cheese would be good too so I will try those changes next time and because of the extra ingredients I will double the sauce. But this is a great casserole as is, just going to try a few variations and see what we think. Thank you again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
very good its surprising how hard it is to find a good tuna noodle casserole dish, next time ill add carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecritic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Wonderful quick and easy dinner. Love the room for additions if you want something extra in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Zeller-Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Excellent, flavorful recipe, and not a canned "cream of" ________ soup in sight, yay! I did add an extra can of tuna, and I used baby early peas. Neither changes the recipe substantially. Thank you for a REAL recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mainerisms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I loved the fact that you don't use canned (high-sodium) soup in this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly except for using macaroni instead of noodles, and lots more garlic (we love our garlic in this house). Prep was easy and quick and the taste of the final result was excellent. Will keep this in the rotation for a quick satisfying (and healthy) meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
A little dry, otherwise very good! Just add a little milk and water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
The idea of a casserole usually freaks me out but I once happened to try my friend's version with cream of mushroom soup and lots of thyme and kind of liked it. When I saw my lack of ingredients I figured today was the day to do it. I didn't have cream of mushroom but l didn't really like the idea of it all too much anyway. I was so happy I found his recipe! With some tweaks it's a total keeper! I sautéed the rest of frozen stirfry mix instead w/o the water chestnuts plus a scallion and a huge clove of garlic. Put that aside then made the sauce with 3T butter and 4T flour, then substituted 1C knorr chicken broth with 1C evaporated milk. Once it thickened I took it off the heat and put 3/4 C low moisture grated mozzarella and a few leftover cubes of extra sharp cheddar. To the pot I added 2 drained 7oz cans of tuna, bottom of a bag of frozen peas, the stirfry, a heaping 1/2 tsp thyme, some marjoram, and s&p. oh, and the cooked pasta of course, I had less than two cups of pasta shells left over which I prefer to noodles after trying it this way. Topped with Italian bread crumb mixture and popped it in the oven (ovenproof pots RULE!) it was freaking STELLAR! I swear it almost tasted like freaking clam chowder I totally want to make this in individual bread bowls! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 879) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States