Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I absolutely loved it. I love tuna casserole and have been looking for a good recipe. I will stick with this one and my kids will call it "moms tuna casserole", I sprinkled a little bacon bits on it a few times for an alternative and omg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Very Good!! Yummy!! was very easy to fix. Tweaked a little for flavor but overall my family loved it! Definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I can't imagine why anyone is worried about the milk and butter in this recipe since it is for 6. Unless you plan on eating the whole thing yourself. Liked it just as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This is basically the same recipe I've been using for the last 50 years. I HATE creamed soup in the majority of recipes and tuna, in my opinion, is not an ingredient which can fight the chicken or mushroom soup taste and win out! A good cream sauce is neutral enough that it lets the tuna flavor shine. I also leave out the veggies and serve them on the side. Spraying the pan with cooking spray is ok, but butter tastes better and for this it works just as well to prevent sticking. Also, one should let the flour/butter mixture simmer for a few seconds stirring constantly, before adding milk, to get rid of the raw flour taste. I add the cheese to the cream sauce and stir until it melts, stir in the tuna and then pour everything over the noodles and stir. Then put in the prepared baking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dinner Date

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
hey in honor of my late mother I made this today in Tennessee and tonight there will be no leftovers so thank M for the recipe in my inbox .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, New York, USA
Living In: Antioch, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Loved this great old time casserole. I sprayed the baking dish and added cut up green olives, and a 1/2 C. white wine and pimentos. Adds just a pop to the over all taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Epps

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I am glad this recipe did not use canned soup, dry soup mix, or bottled sauce. Seems most of these recipes caters to people trying to save time but it does not take much longer to do it from scratch than to resort to canned soup. You also control the salt when you cook from scratch and you don't ingest unpronounceable ingredients. The only changes I made was to omit the mushrooms (hate them), more garlic, and used frozen mixed vegetables instead of just peas. Pearl onions would also work in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I was tired of the same old tuna noodle casserole. I made this recipe - exactly as written - and I think it has a much superior taste. Loved the fact that it uses a roux instead of the canned soup! I liked the addition of the mushrooms, too (our family loves 'shrooms). Very good recipe! A definite keeper Dutchcook1949
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I have not tried this recipe. However I can see just how good it would be. My only comment would be "Way to much prep work for me"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PanApollo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Creede, Colorado, USA
Living In: Oroville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This is a delicious recipe. Remember when making a roue, must have equal parts of butter and flour. I added a little chicken boullion to the sauce, just a tad. I used thyme and a little nutmeg. I also did not cook the garlic with the onions, as garlic becomes very bitter is over sauteed. I added it after the mushrooms and only sauteed the garlic for two minutes as it would cook more while baking. Can't stand bitter garlic! And, my Tuna Casserole always has potato chips in it. I know, I know, lots of calories, etc. but that is my signature add-in for my casserole and my kids love, love, love it and one of my sons asked for it every birthday (much to his wife's chagrin!) My daughter wants it when she comes home and my youngest son just loves it! Try the potato chips! Do not add more butter to the chips and maybe not even bake it! I also did not skimp on the cheddar and even my husband, who hates tuna casserole, loved it! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dorr, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 879) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States