Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch Haiku: "No need to thaw peas, nor use butter on the dish. But the rest? Oooooohhh yeaaaah." This was SO good, and I was thrilled to make a tuna noodle casserole that didn't have a Cream of This-or-That soup in it. Only things that I did differently were just tossing in the peas frozen, and using non-stick spray on the baking dish, and topping half of the casserole w/ just grated cheddar cheese, and the other half w/ french-fried onions, just to see which texture/taste we liked better. (Cheese was the winner.) Enthusiastic 5 stars from my family, but one 6-year old dinner guest was less than happy w/ it, declaring that "mushrooms and onions are deeeesgusting." Her rating doesn't qualify haha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
little bit of time consuming, but very tasty, I added a 1/4 of cheese to the roux after the milk, I also used saltine crackers & butter for the topping. I did double the topping as we like the crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherminator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Love this! No canned soup (which I abhor, e.g. hate) and totally homemade. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I was so surprised at how delicious this recipe is! I don't care for canned tuna so I substituted with canned chicken. I've tried MANY tuna casserole recipes and this wins hands down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I used this recipe along with the suggestions offered in the reviews: 2 med onions; 4-5 cloves of garlic; 2 stalks of celery; 16oz mushrooms; 3/4 can of low-sodium chicken broth + 2 tsp "Better Than Bullion" (for thinning and flavor to the end mix) For the herbs/spices, I chose dill, marjoram, dried parsley, nutmeg, and dry mustard which I added to the roux. I doubled the cheese and added half to the roux and half in the full mixture itself. I topped with garlic breadcrumbs mixed with parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Unfortunately I didn't take the time to read the positive reviews, you know, the ones that say change this and change this and change that and it's good. I made this just as the recipe said and was very disappointed...the peas weren't cooked, the taste was bland, the texture very dry. Unfortunately, I don't believe in wasting food, so I'll have to find a way to doctor it up so I can eat the left-overs for the next week (none of my family will eat this! )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I think it's a good base. But it was a little bland. The second time I added, fresh dill, sage and lemon juice. I also did olive oil instead of butter. I added carrots, onion, chopped green beans. This recipe is a great alternative to creams and soups. My family loved it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Pretty good - I doubled all the aromatic vegetables, added nutmeg to the sauce, and some fresh parsley at the end (should have been dill, but I was out of dill). It was pretty good, but not having grown up with tuna noodle casserole, I suspect I am just not feeling the comfort of this dish due to lack of familiarity. I would repeat, but maybe once a year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I have made my tuna noodle casserole this way for years, except I only use Albacore tuna, and add 1/4 white wine (any kind!) when making the roux. Simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Bravo!!!! This was AMAZING. I have never tried a tuna casserole before. I remember the late eighties, early nineties when tuna casserole was a poor man's meal and dinner preparers would throw all the ingredients I a casserole dish, bake and the results were not appetizing at all. Honestly neither was this my DD, and DH was ready to count it out, until they tasted it, it was so good, everyone had more. I used can salmon because I didn't have tuna, I think the results would be the same. Everything else I left the same. Give this version a try, you won't be disappointed. That's for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geminimistress

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 941) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Country Tuna Noodle Casserole

This prize-winning tuna casserole is a one-pot wonder!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States