Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I am not much of a Tuna Casserole eater, nor is my family but this sounded like such a Yummy Casserole, so I subbed Baked/Chopped Chicken for the Tuna and added a little Chicken Stock and OMG,, it was such a hit..I did the rest of the recipe just the way it was.. My family just loved and my husband said.. Please add this to your Recipe Book . It sure gets a Thumbs from us...Gail
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
this recipe is OK...next time I think I will not put the bread crumbs, and probably add a tiny bit more cheese. I think the flavor of the bread crumbs is unnecessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
As almost everyone else notes you'll want to season the sauce. I also made the sauce more creamy by instead using 1 cup of half and half with 1 cup of milk, and adding 1 cup of cheddar cheese. On top of the casserole I put a half cup of cheddar cheese and French fried onions. With these adjustments the casserole was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This is an excellent base recipe. after reading some reviews, I decided to embellish with some seasonings but I didnt alter it much at all and it was delicious. The husband said it was the best tuna noodle casserole he ever had. This recipe DOES have enough liquid. I can only guess that those that complained about liquid probably used too much noodles. The recipe calls for 8oz. of noodles which is smaller than the average bag of noodles. Another reason this dish may dry out is because of too large a casserole dish that causes the contents to spread out and therefore be more exposed to evaporation. Use a 2.5 quart casserole dish and it will fit perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Clinton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Used can chkn Spray frying pan to sauté Add: 1tsp thyme, nutmeg, red pepper 4-5 cloves Fine chop mushrooms Add into suace:1/2 c pharm, cheddar cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Very good! I'm not a huge fan typically, but my husband loves it. This recipe redeemed tuna casserole for me. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Made the recipe as called for except used whole wheat egg noodles and a little less butter when sateeing veggies. We all loved it! Even my picky 4 year old asked if we could have it again tomorrow. Fortunately we have plenty of leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I am rating this recipe 5 stars because it was a wonderful inspiration for a "from scratch comfort food". My wife has many food intolerances, gluten, soy, dairy, egg, etc. so I have to make major substitutions for almost every recipe I use. I offer the substitutions I made to encourage others with similar challenges to try this recipe. Here is what I changed. 5 Tbs ghee for the butter (1 Tbs to saute vegetables and 4 Tbs for the bechamel sauce) I didn't need it for the baking dish or topping, rice noodles (I used spiral shaped), potato flour instead of all purpose, 1 13.66 oz. can unsweetened coconut milk, 1 to 1 1/2 C rice milk to thin sauce to creamy thick consistency (it is as thick as malt o meal with just the coconut milk), this makes plenty of sauce for those that thought the original recipe was a little dry. I used 3 cans of tuna based on other reviews, I sprinkled a little dill weed into the sauce along with the salt & pepper, finally I pulsed about a 1/2 C gluten free garlic herb croutons for the topping and omitted the cheese and served it on the side for those who can tolerate dairy. My wife was over the top thrilled to have a comfort food she could actually enjoy. You can prepare everything in the same 6 qt. non stick pot if you prep other ingredients while waiting for the water to boil and pasta to cook. Saute onions and mushrooms together in same pot after draining pasta in colander, add garlic during last minute, set vegetables aside, and begin sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Good as is!!! Recipe meant to be creamy buttery, if you want a lighter version or change it completely just post your own recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This is divine comfort food! Based on other reviews I tweaked it ever so slightly: used PAM rather than butter to grease the pan, added about an ounce of cream cheese to the sauce and added about 1/2 cup cheddar cheese to the sauce. I also made about 50% more, just eyeballing the ingredients until it looked about right. This completely filled an 11 x 13 pan and 4 people totally devoured this, leaving *no* leftovers for today! Yeah probably a bit off the charts for fat and calories, etc., so this will not be a weekly meal, but I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 895) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Country Tuna Noodle Casserole

This prize-winning tuna casserole is a one-pot wonder!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States