Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Super yummy! I had spiral noodles on hand so I used them and used 16 oz. I used EVOO to sauté the veggies and subbed it for half the butter in the rue, as we'll. I added the butter and flour mixture in the mushroom mixture (less dishes and same result).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel Baca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AgnusDei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This was great as written, but the second time I made it I had to make a few changes. I wanted fewer pans and less prep. So I sprayed the baking dish with nonstick spray. Then I grabbed my dutch oven and sauted the onions etc. in 2 tsp. butter. I used a jar of sliced mushrooms and diced them up in an attempt to fool the kids and only cooked them long enough to heat through since they're already soft. I just added the roux butter to the onion mixture in the same pot and used 1 cup chicken broth in lieu of one of the cups of milk. Voila! One less pan, a little less fat. I forgot to buy fresh celery so used 1/4 tsp. celery seed, 1/2 tsp. marjoram, 1/8 tsp. cayenne pepper and 1/8 tsp. nutmeg. I also didn't remember to thaw the peas in advance, so I dumped them into the colander along with 12 oz. of cooked noodles because I would never use the remaining 4 oz in the bag. I had some buttermilk (just under 1/4 cup) from a previous recipe and added this plus an extra dallop of regular milk since the first time I made this it was a little dry, but 1/4-1/2 cup of any milk/cream would go a long way. I also added sharp cheddar into the mix because I don't like "cheese crusts" on top. Finally, I wanted a little extra crunch on top so I just smashed up a sandwich baggie of plain kettle chips and added these on top, covering with foil for all but the last 5 mins. I honestly thought my lazier method wouldn't produce nearly as good of results as the original, but we actually liked it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niki-b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Very delicious! I adjusted it a little but this is great because it doesn't have canned soup in it and it super easy to make and change up any way you want. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I was embarrassed with my guests when I made this dish, the measurement for the flour and the butter is completely different than what it actually looks and said during the Video presentation. In the video the demonstrator spread some flour, while she was saying 1/4 cup of flour. The result was a thick cream which turned the pasta into a paste texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
It taste pretty good, but it took long to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri808

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I really liked this recipe. I did double the rue and added more peas and celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dasegalla
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Loved this Recipe,No Mushrooms Husband doesn't like them, added red pepper flakes, and Cheddar cheese on top~Deb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dasegalla

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
This recipe was really good and loved by my entire family. My wife particularly whose isn't a fan of casseroles, thought this dish was really good and recommended that I prepare it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I had never had tuna casserole, had seen it so many times on movies as a joke that I did not take it seriously. But I am very happy that I gave this a go. I made it as stated though I minced the mushrooms because I have a 3 year old, and I used fried onions as topping as someone else suggested. I also mixed some of the cheddar into the pasta mix, as a cup is a lot just for topping. It was wonderful, even with whole wheat pasta which usually is not that appetizing. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 886) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Country Tuna Noodle Casserole

This prize-winning tuna casserole is a one-pot wonder!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States