Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I grew up hating tuna noodle casserole. After 3 years of my husband pestering me to make it I finally decided to attempt a homemade version that is totally different than my mom's which is made with cream of mushroom soup. We absolutely loved this! I will definitely make it again and again. I did use whole wheat pasta instead of egg noodles, but that was the only change I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Nice and basic, I add a bit of sugar... weird
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I cooked the casserole exactly as written. It was very bland with little flavor. It may be better if the sauce was cheese and not white. It may also be more flavorful with mustard added to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This was a great recipe. Everyone loved it. It was easy to prepare, a quick dish and deliciously creamy. I gave it 4 stars, because first of all, I didn't really taste the onions, celery and garlic. Next time, I think I'll omit that. Also, I doubled every ingredient except for the tuna. 8 oz. of noodles doesn't make alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I am in shock! My entire family loved this. I have four kids, ages 9/11/13/15. One of them is a tuna lover and the others complain when she eats it because of the smell. They can't stand it. So I was reluctant to make a tuna dish, but I gave it a shot. Well, I just took an EMPTY casserole dish off the table!! They ate it all and wanted more. I added a little extra milk to the sauce because I used a pound of mini farfalle pasta instead of egg noodles. I threw in some fresh chopped spinach as well to add more veggies. And because I got confused with some other recipes I had been looking at, I accidently used a sleeve of Ritz crackers smashed up instead of bread crumbs and mixed it with melted butter and garlic salt. The dish was not at all dry even though I used the extra pasta. Excellent! They won't groan the next time I say I'm making tuna casserole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I really liked this! I didn't use mushrooms, so I was able to saute the onion, celery, and garlic in the same large skillet that I added the flour to to make the roux. So that part was all done in one skillet. Also I used crushed potato chips on top instead of the breading. Its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I made this casserole for my boys for lunch. I did change it a bit because of their different taste. I used corn instead of peas and no mushrooms. They didn't like the celery so next time that's out too. As for me and my husband we liked it the way it was. It was quick and easy to make. A basic white sauce instead of cream of mushroom soup. It's a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This was a big hit with my 16-month-old son! He gobbled it down, and I didn't mind giving it to him because there was NO canned soup in this recipe! I didn't put the breadcrumbs on top but I did melt the cheese. A great weeknight dinner with lots leftover for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Made this tonight for the first time and it was a hit with the family. I made a few modifications. In an effort to eat a little better I substituted whole wheat egg noodles. I also added cayenne pepper and some extra black pepper to give it some extra flavor. I wanted to use whole wheat bread crumbs so I toasted and used the heel of a loaf of bread. The crunch definitely added to the dish, I might add a few more next time :) It was a tiny bit dry, but I think that may have been due to the whole wheat pasta. I added a little cream to it while it was in the oven and cooked a few more minutes. Overall very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Starke, Florida, USA
Living In: Snellville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I love this recipe because all the ingredients are fresh, not canned. (Except of course the tuna). I think every cook should know how to make a roue, which is a basic cooking skill. I added some paprika and red pepper to the roue, because I like a little heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manuel Angelo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 896) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Country Tuna Noodle Casserole

This prize-winning tuna casserole is a one-pot wonder!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States