Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I really liked this! I didn't use mushrooms, so I was able to saute the onion, celery, and garlic in the same large skillet that I added the flour to to make the roux. So that part was all done in one skillet. Also I used crushed potato chips on top instead of the breading. Its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I made this casserole for my boys for lunch. I did change it a bit because of their different taste. I used corn instead of peas and no mushrooms. They didn't like the celery so next time that's out too. As for me and my husband we liked it the way it was. It was quick and easy to make. A basic white sauce instead of cream of mushroom soup. It's a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This was a big hit with my 16-month-old son! He gobbled it down, and I didn't mind giving it to him because there was NO canned soup in this recipe! I didn't put the breadcrumbs on top but I did melt the cheese. A great weeknight dinner with lots leftover for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Made this tonight for the first time and it was a hit with the family. I made a few modifications. In an effort to eat a little better I substituted whole wheat egg noodles. I also added cayenne pepper and some extra black pepper to give it some extra flavor. I wanted to use whole wheat bread crumbs so I toasted and used the heel of a loaf of bread. The crunch definitely added to the dish, I might add a few more next time :) It was a tiny bit dry, but I think that may have been due to the whole wheat pasta. I added a little cream to it while it was in the oven and cooked a few more minutes. Overall very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Starke, Florida, USA
Living In: Snellville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I love this recipe because all the ingredients are fresh, not canned. (Except of course the tuna). I think every cook should know how to make a roue, which is a basic cooking skill. I added some paprika and red pepper to the roue, because I like a little heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manuel Angelo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
It was soooooo good. A million times better than the versions with the canned soup. The little extra work is totally worth it. The hubby cleaned his plate 3 times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guatemala, Guatemala, Guatemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Followed directions as given, but the end result was a dry mixture with very little taste. After reading several comments complaining of the dryness, I even added extra milk to compensate, but with no success. The picture looks nothing like what came out of my oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
It's not often a new recipe has my entire family wowed but this one did just that. I followed this recipe exactly as written except for using half the amount of butter called for and French onions instead of using bread crumbs - both because that's what I had on hand. I have slightly picky kids so I did chop the veggies up fine. My husband and kids absolutely loved this dish. I've made the canned soup version before and it didn't fly, this version is great! It's also easily customizable and you could add more veggies too. My hubby even reported the left overs were even better the second day. I'll will be adding this one into the rotation! It's delicious! Thanks for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by animeflower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainville, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Hubby loved it and says it is a "5"! It is very forgiving, since I did not have all the ingredients, and had to convert it to gluten free. I used gluten free penne noodles, omitted the celery (didn't have any) and used loosely chopped mushrooms. For the roux, I used 1/4 cup potato flour and 2% milk and butter. For the topping I used crushed GF cheese crackers, omitting the butter and cheese. Everything else was added as written. It went into the frig, until I pulled it out 48 hours later... I poured 1/2 cup 2% milk around the edges/middle of the casserole as it had dried out in the frig over the last two days. It baked perfectly in 45 minutes to the cheer of the family gathered at the table. Thank you for sharing this recipe! I look forward to adding it to my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Really loved this! Was nice not to put canned soup in it ! It's a keeper. Def comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 891) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Country Tuna Noodle Casserole

This prize-winning tuna casserole is a one-pot wonder!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States