Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2015
Was excited to find this recipe because it did not use cream of something soup.Followed recipe exactly first time I made this. Was a very good base recipe, just not a lot of flavor. Second time I made this, tweaked as follows according to what I had on hand at home, and advice from other reviews: used quartered grape tomatoes instead of mushrooms, sauteed with onions, garlic, and celery with kosher salt and ground peppercorns to taste. Removed to bowl. In saute pan, used 1.5 cups skim milk with 1/2 cup of chicken broth for roux. Added celery seed, pepper, pinch of cayenne pepper, and salt to roux-along with half of the cheddar cheese. Mixed everything together in saute pan. Used 1/2 panko crumbs and 1/2 grated parmesan cheese with melted butter over casserole, then sprinkled with 1/4 c cheddar cheese (3/4 cup cheddar used in total for recipe). placed saute pan in oven and baked as directed. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
One of my favorites exactly as submitted,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
I agree with fellow reviewers that this, as written, is bland. I had to add some salt and diced tomatoes to my bowl, my husband used quite a lot of Tabasco sauce on his plate. I did make it with some cream cheese and added parm cheese to the tuna/veggie mixture. Bottom line is: good base recipe that you need to tweak to your liking! My husband's asked me to make it again and the kid that eats meat liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Just made this and turned out great! I add extra garlic to everything. I also added a touch of nutmeg to the roux, pimentos to the vegetable mixture and used french fried onions on top instead of breadcrumbs. I think it would be delicious as is but I always make a few adjustments according to our taste. I agree it is much better than the canned soup version. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
This is now my go-to recipe for tuna casserole. However, I'm only giving it 4 stars because as written it's a little bland and there is not near enough sauce. I highly recommend doubling the sauce, adding extra garlic and a pinch of cayenne pepper, and topping with crushed potato chips instead of bread crumbs. With those changes, it's fantastic! I do love this recipe as a base, and it's the best I've found so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
Oh so good! So glad to find a way to make tuna casserole but bypass the canned soups! Tasted waaaaay better (cleaner) than the canned soup version! LOVE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
My husband really like this, I have made it several times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Wonderful recipe! I found out right before assembling that the BF didn't like Tuna so I substituted chicken. The chicken was very good but it would've been amazing with tuna. I added onion crisps and crushed crackers to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Delicious! It was my husband's first try at a casserole and he nailed it! I, too think I'd like a little more sauce by adding more liquid (i.e. chicken broth). Have passed it on to several others. Good job MVANWINKLE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shayshebang
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I love everything about this recipe. I did double everything and added 1 cup of sour cream. I quadrupled the breadcrumb and cheese topping cause, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Unknown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 954) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Country Tuna Noodle Casserole

This prize-winning tuna casserole is a one-pot wonder!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States