Tuna Noodle Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
This is a great basic tuna noodle recipe. However, I made a few changes I believe made it even better. First, I cooked the noodles a couple of minutes less than the package calls for, so after baking they will not be overdone. I added a can of mushrooms, and an additional can of soup (either mushroom or celery) to make it creamier and it set up fine. I cut the salt down to 1/2 tsp. because there is salt in the potato chips and sodium in the soup. I figure eaters can always add, but cant take away. I also added 1 1/2 c. peas to the soup mixture at the same time as the noodles, being careful not to mash. I used Mozerella cheese instead of American. And the leftovers are even better! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
304 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
Hi this is Chris and this is my recipe. We're thrilled so many people like it and add whatever items that suit your family's tastes. We use the 98% fat free soups, 2% milk, and shell macaroni because the sauce fills in the little cup shape. If we have fresh mushrooms we add a few. Couple Tbls fresh celery adds a nice texture. One son likes extra cheese so in one corner we put more there. Use the recipe as the base, add what you like, you can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
This recipe is fantastic. I made 3 changes though. Instead of American cheese, I used 8 oz of shredded Sharp cheddar, I used reduced calorie cream of chicken instead of cream of mushroom (my husband hates mushrooms) and I cut the salt in half. To be honest, you could probably get rid of the salt entirely since tuna and cheese are both pretty salty. My boyfriend does not normally eat or enjoy "comfort food" LOVED this recipe. A++, 5 stars, a real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Graham

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
Awesome recipe!!! I decided to make it exactly as written the first time and make any changes I thought it needed next, except I did use 6 slices of cheese instead of 4. It is so perfect the way it is I would not change a thing! I also used the 98% fat free soup. My hubby can be very picky and he had two huge servings, I couldn't stop eating it and my 2-year-old loved it too. And it was so easy to make and impossible to mess up. It will definitely be part of our regular rotation. Thanks Chris, for posting this delicious, easy and inexpensive recipe!***UPDATE***When I re-heated the leftovers(and there were a lot), the potato chips got soggy. Now I only top 1/2 with chips and add fresh ones before re-heating leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
I loved this recipe, but I changed so much in it, I didn't give 5 stars because I almost made up a different recipe! I used 1 can cream of mushroom, 2 cans cream of chicken, and 2 cups milk, since many said it was dry. I used whole wheat egg noodles, instead of shells and cooked them for 5 minutes, so they were a little under done. I added 1 bag of frozen broccoli florets (peas would be great also!) to the last 2 minutes of the pasta cooking, so they would thaw quickly. I added 1 4oz can of mushrooms, 2 ribs of celery finely chopped, the tops of 3 green onions, 1 tsp of white pepper and garlic powder, and no salt. I used 8 slices of American cheese. Instead of using chips, I used the same amount of crushed croutons, which I microwaved with 1 pat of butter to coat before I put them on the casserole. I only cooked it for 20 minutes, then shut off the oven and left it for 10 more. It turned out wonderfully! Usually, tuna casserole will come out dry (or mushy) if you overcook the noodles, or add too many extra things without adding extra liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willis, Texas, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
We really liked this easy tuna noodle casserole recipe. I used low-fat soups, skim milk, reduced-fat cheese, and crackers instead of potato chips, and it was delicious. I also added frozen peas and a can of sliced mushrooms. The recipe makes so much...as much as we enjoyed it last night, we have plenty of leftovers today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
My two biggest regret making this dish is that I can't give it negative stars and it was a waste of two perfectly good cans of tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
Easy, great tasting casserole! My husband said a total of 5 times how good it was. I made a couple of minor changes...I used a can of healthy select cr. of chicken soup b/c I didn't have cr. of celery and my cr. of mushroom was roasted garlic flavor(I omitted the crushed garlic). I also added a small can of mushrooms and used seasoned stuffing instead of potato chips for extra flavor. I did omit the salt, but will use a little next time. Thanks for the great recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
This was simple and great. I added 1/2 cup monterey jack shredded cheese, 1 box thawed frozen peas, a can of mushroom pieces and stems, and sprinkled Panko with butter bread crumbs over the top before baking. The family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
This is a really good tuna noodle casserole...the cheese really adds a unique spin! I didn't have any potato chips so I added bread crumbs, but the next time I will be sure to either have the chips or maybe even Ritz crackers...that would be tasty. *** UPDATE *** I made it again and added about 1 cup of cheddar cheese mixed in and it really added to the flavor. I also didn't put the chips on, but the top started to dry out a little so I will probably put ritz crackers on top the next time. When I tried it with potato chips (I've tried it 3 times now), the chips were soggy the next day and were gross.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 424) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Country Tuna Noodle Casserole

This prize-winning tuna casserole is a one-pot wonder!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States