Tuna Noodle Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
As is, it's fair. I think next time when I make it, I'll use cheddar cheese soup and double the tuna fish and onion. TIP: Adding just a spoonful or two of sour cream to your macaroni and cheese or tuna casseroles makes them a little creamier and brings that extra something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Great alternative to the traditional peas & cream of something soup tuna casserole. I didn't have any tomato soup on hand so I used two cans of tomato paste and water (an almost half & half mix). With this amount of tomato stuff, plan on more noodles and tuna. I like a high protein meal anyways so I added twice the tuna the recipe called for. The only other major change was I layered the noodle mix with the cheese into the baking dish intead of adding the cheese into the pan. I was afraid all that gooey cheese would be hard to clean. Very good - I will parobably make again. I liked the onion - it added a bit of crunch so I will probably add more or experiment with with crunchy vegtables or some kind of crumb topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novi, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chuck
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
Good but a little plain for what I was expecting.. it feels like I want to add something else to this recipe, but I don't know what it is yet. 2nd Try: went to 1T chili powder, doubled the worcheteshire, added 1 can roasted green chili's diced, 4cloves garlic diced, a bit of onion powder (simple onion), used 9oz albacore tuna, and maybe 1t of chipotle powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Very easy and economical! Being lactose intolerant I can not eat the normal tuna casserole..One day I had a craving and stumbled upon this. I used 1 can paste/1 can water instead of the soup. For cheese I used the lactose free. I also used fried onions for the top (and some inside)! My husband wasn't a fan of tuna casserole until he tried this! I will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Naomi Gtz
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I made this recipe with spaghetti noodles, sour cream, two kinds of onion, salt, pepper, butter, peas and bread crumbs. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi Gtz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elma, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
i LOVED this. Very easy- and good! I substituted 2 cans of tomato paste for the tomato soup ( added health benefit). Its very tomato-y though!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
We loved it...my picky 2 year old even had seconds! I added some extra cheddar cheese and french fried onions for the top, and made it with rotini instead. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2001
I left out the onions and oil and used 8 oz. of noodles. This was good and a little different for tuna noodle casserole. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
SOLID 4 stars. I like this recipe and will make it again, as is, other than substituting whole grain noodles. An 8oz bag of noodles is all that will fit in a 1-2qt casserole. I tripled the tuna for a more hearty casserole. This casserole, like many tomato based recipes is MUCH better the next day after the flavors have had a chance to meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JakesLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sellersburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Substitued Condensed Tomatoe Soup with Tomatoe Paste and 4 chopped up tomatoes Added: Garlic Cloves and another teaspoon of chili powder and cheyenne powder. This recipe was really really good. My parents tore it up, when I made a butt load. I think it could have used a bit more sauce, BUT I did use a whole box of pasta instead of 1 1/2 cups of egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amberkirky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Country Tuna Noodle Casserole

This prize-winning tuna casserole is a one-pot wonder!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States