Tuna Noodle Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
As is, it's fair. I think next time when I make it, I'll use cheddar cheese soup and double the tuna fish and onion. TIP: Adding just a spoonful or two of sour cream to your macaroni and cheese or tuna casseroles makes them a little creamier and brings that extra something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Great alternative to the traditional peas & cream of something soup tuna casserole. I didn't have any tomato soup on hand so I used two cans of tomato paste and water (an almost half & half mix). With this amount of tomato stuff, plan on more noodles and tuna. I like a high protein meal anyways so I added twice the tuna the recipe called for. The only other major change was I layered the noodle mix with the cheese into the baking dish intead of adding the cheese into the pan. I was afraid all that gooey cheese would be hard to clean. Very good - I will parobably make again. I liked the onion - it added a bit of crunch so I will probably add more or experiment with with crunchy vegtables or some kind of crumb topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novi, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chuck
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
Good but a little plain for what I was expecting.. it feels like I want to add something else to this recipe, but I don't know what it is yet. 2nd Try: went to 1T chili powder, doubled the worcheteshire, added 1 can roasted green chili's diced, 4cloves garlic diced, a bit of onion powder (simple onion), used 9oz albacore tuna, and maybe 1t of chipotle powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Naomi Gtz
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I made this recipe with spaghetti noodles, sour cream, two kinds of onion, salt, pepper, butter, peas and bread crumbs. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi Gtz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elma, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Very easy and economical! Being lactose intolerant I can not eat the normal tuna casserole..One day I had a craving and stumbled upon this. I used 1 can paste/1 can water instead of the soup. For cheese I used the lactose free. I also used fried onions for the top (and some inside)! My husband wasn't a fan of tuna casserole until he tried this! I will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
i LOVED this. Very easy- and good! I substituted 2 cans of tomato paste for the tomato soup ( added health benefit). Its very tomato-y though!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
We loved it...my picky 2 year old even had seconds! I added some extra cheddar cheese and french fried onions for the top, and made it with rotini instead. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2001
I left out the onions and oil and used 8 oz. of noodles. This was good and a little different for tuna noodle casserole. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
SOLID 4 stars. I like this recipe and will make it again, as is, other than substituting whole grain noodles. An 8oz bag of noodles is all that will fit in a 1-2qt casserole. I tripled the tuna for a more hearty casserole. This casserole, like many tomato based recipes is MUCH better the next day after the flavors have had a chance to meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JakesLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sellersburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Substitued Condensed Tomatoe Soup with Tomatoe Paste and 4 chopped up tomatoes Added: Garlic Cloves and another teaspoon of chili powder and cheyenne powder. This recipe was really really good. My parents tore it up, when I made a butt load. I think it could have used a bit more sauce, BUT I did use a whole box of pasta instead of 1 1/2 cups of egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amberkirky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Country Tuna Noodle Casserole

This prize-winning tuna casserole is a one-pot wonder!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States