Tuna Mushroom Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
This recipe worked out really well after some revisions based on others' suggestions. Here's what I did: 1/2 box of small shell pasta, 12 oz. can tuna, 16 oz. fresh mushrooms (sliced), 2 cans cream of mushroom (10.75 oz.), 1 3/4 cans of milk, 1/2 cup bread crumbs, 3 tbsp. butter, seasonings to taste, Other than that, I cooked in the oven for 60 min. All other actions were based on the recipe's suggestion. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TwylaStar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2001
This is so easy! It is also a recipe that converts to low fat! Use the 99% fat free cream of mushroom, semi skimmed milk, a smaller amount of butter and low fat saltine crackers for the topping. My husband couldn't tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2004
I can only give this recipe a three stars. There were so many bread crumbs called for that it dried out the casserole. My husband and I ended up scraping off the crumbs and eating the casserole. I will make this again but will sprinkle cheese on the top as a topping and I will use peas inside the casserole with the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
Tasty, easy recipe. Tuna & mushrooms together have a nice, homey flavor. As others suggested, I reduced the breadcrumbs to about 1/2 cup, and also stirred shredded parmesan cheese into the tuna mixture. This added a lightly cheesy, savory flavor to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tynesjl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2001
great dish for meatless fridays!! Really different from other tuna casseroles- my 3 year old ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
2 cups of bow tie pasta didn't sound like much (some casserole recipes are odd in this regard), so I used the whole 12 ounce box. I kept the liquid the same, and added a little more tuna, used a larger casserole dish. I baked for 30 minutes ( instead of 40) and then added a little shredded cheddar on top ,returning to the oven a few minutes to melt. We thought it was good; wasn't dry even with more pasta. You could add some color with pimentoes and/or peas, or just serve a colorful vegetable on the side. I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This is an easy recipe for your typical tuna noodle casserole, just what I was looking for. I made recipe "as is" except I added a small can of drained peas and forgot to add thyme to the crumbs. Yeah, there were alot of crumbs, I didn't put them all on top. Tuna noodle casserole is nothing exciting, it's just tuna noodle casserole, so that is why I gave it 3 stars. The bowties rather than noodles made it look pretty on the plate though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMM104

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
My husband LOVED this recipe. He also likes mushrooms and tuna a lot, but I think the combination of everything is what made this dish. I used egg noodles instead of bowtie. GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I orginally made this for a friend who had just had surgery (It was during Lent) who asked for a Tuna Fish casserole. She called me the next day to ask for the recipe as her whole family loved it. I have since made it again, and agree. This is the one for us. The only thing I changed was to sautee the mushrooms first then add them. I think once I even added just a wee bit of tarragon with the mushrooms before I added them to the casserole and also really liked the addition. You can't go wrong with this one. Thanks Amethys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I made this tonight for my husband and I. I altered a little since we had different supplies. I added more pasta to yield more and added cream of celery to it. This turned out great! We were on the last crumbs in our pantry and this was exactly what we had. I think if I would've had cheese I would have added it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States