Tuna Mushroom Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This is great because you can use ingredients on hand to make this. My husband loves it and he is picky pick picky! I did change this a bit however. First I used shells instead of bow ties. I used 1 can of marinated mushrooms (adds just enough zing) I was out of milk so used 1/2 & 1/2. I also added a can of cream corn (adds more creaminess). While boiling shells added everything but bread crumbs and butter. Add thyme to soup. Bread crumbs were already seasoned so I didn't add any seasonings. Last I added cheese on top of the bread crumbs and butter. With respect to the milk and butter the ingredients can be kept on hand for a meal in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
After reading reviews I omitted the bread crumbs all together and added 1 cup frozen sweet peas and 1 cup shredded mozzarella. It still needed some extra flavor. Next time I will make with sauted onion and a few cloves of garlic. Good way to use up what I had in my pantry though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Great, except - Only use 1/2 a cup of bread crumbs - eyeball it, and mix it into the mixture instead of covering the top with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moline, Illinois, USA
Living In: East Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
There was way too much topping on my 1 quart casserole. My husband gave it a thumbs down. The thyme was entirely too overpowering and the rest too bland. Maybe if I had just sprinkled the topping on instead of using the entire amount as the recipe called for it would have been as others rave. 2 tsps is a lot of thyme as is a cup of breadcrumbs. I had to scrap the top off and throw it away, then sprinkle some cheddar on it to salvage the dish. Otherwise, the flavor was okay, just way too much thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Americus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
This was a great recipe. So good, one of my roommates ate my leftovers and lied to me about it. What are you gonna do? Will definitely make again now that I live alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Ok I rated this 4 star because I added more seasoning to make it 5 star for us. As a basic recipe, it is very good but adding garlic salt, dried dill and a handful of extra old orange cheddar to the liquids made it explode with flavour. Oh and I used crumbled ritz crackers for topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TrixieDarty
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
This was so yummy! I added a handful of shredded cheddar cheese to the mix for a cheesy flavor and also added an extra can of tuna (I love tuna!). After reading all the other reviews I decided to just guestimate on the bread crumbs, I know it wasnt a full cup not quite sure how much it was but it turnd out yummy! Then I added a little shredded cheddar cheese to the top! YUM! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrixieDarty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Satanta, Kansas, USA
Living In: Brigham City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I added fresh sliced mushroom, other than that followed recipe exactly. It was a good Monday dinner with some garden salad! Mmmmm Mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This is the WORST recipe that I have ever made! It honestly tasted like something from the freezer section that you would microwave for 2 minutes. Sorry I wasted the time and the money!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Hubby and even picky toddler loved this recipe. I am so glad to find something else to do with tuna besides make tuna salad. I substituted the thyme for Italian seasoning and used fresh mushrooms instead of canned. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States