Tuna Mushroom Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I added a little Italian Seasoning and used Italian Style Bread Crumbs. It added a little more flavor. PS I needed to use a 1.5 liter casserole because I could not fit it into a smaller one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gmeyers1944

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
As others have commented, the amount of bread crumbs was far more than necessary and turned out dry in spite of the addition of cheese to the topping. In spite of that, however, this comfort recipe is tasty, easy, and easily adjustable. I used thin spaghetti noodles, since that's what I had on hand. I omitted mushrooms but added frozen cauliflower, broccoli, green beans, carrots, celery, and onion. I sauteed the vegetables in olive oil while the pasta was boiling. Just before the pasta was cooked, I added 2 cloves of minced garlic and the tuna to the vegetable mixture. I also added a dash of celery seeds to the topping along with Parmesan and cheddar cheeses, a little garlic powder and onion powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Whole famiy loved it, even the kids. The four of us ate it all. I used 1/2 cup of dried bread crumbs and 1/2 cup of sharp cheddar insead of a cup of bread crumbs and I only used one can of sliced mushrooms and added some peas. Will deffinately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
2 cups of bow tie pasta didn't sound like much (some casserole recipes are odd in this regard), so I used the whole 12 ounce box. I kept the liquid the same, and added a little more tuna, used a larger casserole dish. I baked for 30 minutes ( instead of 40) and then added a little shredded cheddar on top ,returning to the oven a few minutes to melt. We thought it was good; wasn't dry even with more pasta. You could add some color with pimentoes and/or peas, or just serve a colorful vegetable on the side. I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I orginally made this for a friend who had just had surgery (It was during Lent) who asked for a Tuna Fish casserole. She called me the next day to ask for the recipe as her whole family loved it. I have since made it again, and agree. This is the one for us. The only thing I changed was to sautee the mushrooms first then add them. I think once I even added just a wee bit of tarragon with the mushrooms before I added them to the casserole and also really liked the addition. You can't go wrong with this one. Thanks Amethys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I followed this recipe partially-I halved it for 3 servings but used a full can of milk, poured straight into casserole bottom, mixed with soup and seasonings, mixed in 1 can tuna, layered wheat rotini into sauce then covered with sauted veg I had on hand- white onion, green onion, celery, zucchini- no bread crumbs or cheese *(keeping it healthy) and added cayenne. Peas can get a little plain, so this veg combo kept it classy-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
My 8 yr old son loves this Casserole. I substituted frozen veggies for the mushrooms and added a bit or red pepper for more colour. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I made this tonight for my husband and I. I altered a little since we had different supplies. I added more pasta to yield more and added cream of celery to it. This turned out great! We were on the last crumbs in our pantry and this was exactly what we had. I think if I would've had cheese I would have added it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This is a good twist on the usual Tuna Casserole. The second time we made it I added frozen peas. We will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States