Tuna Melts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
YUM! But seriously, 1 cup of mayo? I used 2 tablespoons. 4 stars because if I would have used 1 cup of mayo, I'm positive this would have been inedible. I omitted the onions, added a shake of garlic salt, and a little dill relish. I've never tried mozzarella on a tuna melt before, but it was awesome. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
234 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Years ago my mom used to make chicken melts but she couldn't remember how she made them. As soon as I read this recipe, I knew this was it. She substituted canned chicken for the tuna, same amount of mayo (I used light), onion optional, cheddar cheese on a toasted english muffin. Bake it in the oven until warm and cheese is melted. Yum!! Thanks for helping me recreate my mom's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
Too much mayonnaise and lacks flavor. Maybe use 1/2 cup of mayonnaise and add some garlic salt and black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
This recipe quickly became a family favorite. My little variation the recipe: I place premade Buttermilk Biscuit dough in muffin molds, top them with the tuna mixture, sprinkle bbq seasoning on top and bake in over according to instructions on pack of biscuit dough. Yummmmmmmmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melaniebousquet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
There is no such thing as too much mayonaise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Great tuna melt. I did add about 2T of pickle relish and a few shakes of a garlic/dill seasoning blend. Didn't measure mayo, just eyeballed until I had the consistency I wanted (remember, it will dry out a bit while in the oven).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
This is so easy to make and it is a real treat ... Have tried them both warm and cold - as I wrapped them and brought them along to a picknic..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Esbjerg, Syddanmark, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
WAAAY to much mayo! Mind you, I ate tuna sandwiches throughout my entire third pregnancy because I craved them so badly, (not to mention I love them) and this was a nice change. Try adding a little hot Giardinera relish to zest it up a bit! Thanks P. Kelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Used Italian bread since that's what I had, and fat-free Miracle Whip which is what I call 'mayo' :-) (I used the amt called for & liked it that way.) Nothing extraordinary, but good, very simple and quick. If I happen to have the bread around, this is great for when I'm being lazy or need to use up some tuna or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Made exactly as is and this made a great tuna melt. I think people are having an issue with the recipe because they're assuming that the recipe calls for one small can of tuna (usually 4 or 5 oz. depending on brand) but the recipe actually calls for a 12 oz can. 1 C of mayo for a 12 oz can is pretty much dead on to bind the tuna, onion and cheese. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Tuna Melts

See how to make a lighter tuna melt with a pickled pepper kick.

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States