Tuna Melts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I never have liked tuna and I LOVED this recipe. I used whole wheat double fiber sliced bread. AWESOME and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This was pretty good and different. I used just plain white bread and used my toaster oven. It cooked it just right. I also added a little garlic powder and only about 2 1/2 TBLS of Miracle Whip, not a cup of Mayo it would have been to much. I also added a little relish. Thanks for the change to the same ol thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKITLES

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I used this as a basic recipe, and altered it to my family's tastes. I omitted the onion, and added pickle relish and sliced celery. I used about 3 T mayonnaise to 6 ounces tuna, and replaced the shredded mozzarella with slices of monterey jack cheese placed on top of the tuna melt. Finally, I toasted whole wheat english muffins and then baked the melts. The kids BOTH gobbled them up, which rarely happens at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I am a big fan of tuna melts and was alway nervous about making my own. This recipe was easy to follow and oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetPea
Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: O Fallon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Years ago my mom used to make chicken melts but she couldn't remember how she made them. As soon as I read this recipe, I knew this was it. She substituted canned chicken for the tuna, same amount of mayo (I used light), onion optional, cheddar cheese on a toasted english muffin. Bake it in the oven until warm and cheese is melted. Yum!! Thanks for helping me recreate my mom's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This was delicious. I never had tuna melts as a child because I refused to eat tuna, so I have no hand me down recipe for this. I followed this recipe to the letter (my bread was frozen anyway, so leaving it in the oven while it preheated wasn't a problem) but removed the mustard because I didn't have any and the pickles because I hate them, so this was easy to adjust to my tastes. Any recipe I can follow pretty much exactly and is really, really tasty gets a 5 from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Very good recipe. I have to disagree with the reviewers who say there is too much mayo. I started out using half because so many said it was way too much and I could just tell that it was too dry, so I added the other half and it was excellent. I wonder, though...the recipe tripped me up for a minute because it said 1 12-oz can of tuna fish. I have never bought a 12-oz can of tuna fish in my life. I didn't know they were sold in anything but 6-oz cans. So at first when I thought I read 1 cup of mayo for 1 (6 oz) can of tuna my eyes popped. I did use light mayo to cut calories and added a dash of garlic salt. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Very good! I used english muffins instead of the french bread - and topped it off with sliced advocado, tomato, & a squirt of ranch dressing. Provolone cheese is also good with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staley, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Pretty good. I used let mayo and instead of shredded mozzarella I topped it with sliced mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
AWESOME recipe! I just got finished devouring this! I did; however, make a few small changes: I followed the previous post's advice about using less mayo and only used about 4 tablespoons. I didn't have mozz cheese on hand, but did have some Kraft shredded taco cheese and used that. I alway keep a mix of fresh diced veggies in the refridgerator of red bell pepper, green bell pepper, red onion and cilantro (for chicken quesdillas, chicken nachos, etc.), so I added a bit of this to my tuna mixture. Then, I put the mixture on a splitted wheat English muffin and placed it in the oven until the cheese was slightly melted then I swtiched it over to Broil on high for about 3 min so the cheese was nice and brown on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Tuna Melts

See how to make a lighter tuna melt with a pickled pepper kick.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States