Tuna Melts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I am a big fan of tuna melts and was alway nervous about making my own. This recipe was easy to follow and oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetPea
Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: O Fallon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Years ago my mom used to make chicken melts but she couldn't remember how she made them. As soon as I read this recipe, I knew this was it. She substituted canned chicken for the tuna, same amount of mayo (I used light), onion optional, cheddar cheese on a toasted english muffin. Bake it in the oven until warm and cheese is melted. Yum!! Thanks for helping me recreate my mom's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This was delicious. I never had tuna melts as a child because I refused to eat tuna, so I have no hand me down recipe for this. I followed this recipe to the letter (my bread was frozen anyway, so leaving it in the oven while it preheated wasn't a problem) but removed the mustard because I didn't have any and the pickles because I hate them, so this was easy to adjust to my tastes. Any recipe I can follow pretty much exactly and is really, really tasty gets a 5 from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Very good recipe. I have to disagree with the reviewers who say there is too much mayo. I started out using half because so many said it was way too much and I could just tell that it was too dry, so I added the other half and it was excellent. I wonder, though...the recipe tripped me up for a minute because it said 1 12-oz can of tuna fish. I have never bought a 12-oz can of tuna fish in my life. I didn't know they were sold in anything but 6-oz cans. So at first when I thought I read 1 cup of mayo for 1 (6 oz) can of tuna my eyes popped. I did use light mayo to cut calories and added a dash of garlic salt. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Very good! I used english muffins instead of the french bread - and topped it off with sliced advocado, tomato, & a squirt of ranch dressing. Provolone cheese is also good with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staley, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Pretty good. I used let mayo and instead of shredded mozzarella I topped it with sliced mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
AWESOME recipe! I just got finished devouring this! I did; however, make a few small changes: I followed the previous post's advice about using less mayo and only used about 4 tablespoons. I didn't have mozz cheese on hand, but did have some Kraft shredded taco cheese and used that. I alway keep a mix of fresh diced veggies in the refridgerator of red bell pepper, green bell pepper, red onion and cilantro (for chicken quesdillas, chicken nachos, etc.), so I added a bit of this to my tuna mixture. Then, I put the mixture on a splitted wheat English muffin and placed it in the oven until the cheese was slightly melted then I swtiched it over to Broil on high for about 3 min so the cheese was nice and brown on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
YUM! But seriously, 1 cup of mayo? I used 2 tablespoons. 4 stars because if I would have used 1 cup of mayo, I'm positive this would have been inedible. I omitted the onions, added a shake of garlic salt, and a little dill relish. I've never tried mozzarella on a tuna melt before, but it was awesome. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
234 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
These were very good and liked by the whole family. Very easy and fast. I did make them with the biskets like someone had suggested. I also used cheddar cheese. Topped them off with a sprinkle of cheese also. I will try them with something else next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Used Italian bread since that's what I had, and fat-free Miracle Whip which is what I call 'mayo' :-) (I used the amt called for & liked it that way.) Nothing extraordinary, but good, very simple and quick. If I happen to have the bread around, this is great for when I'm being lazy or need to use up some tuna or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Tuna Melts

See how to make a lighter tuna melt with a pickled pepper kick.

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States